I had my first heart-stopping moment (and I made it through)

Reaction score
TL;DR - Lost signal and my drone returned to home but I wasn't there. Had to go back to my point of origin to recover. Found it and all is well. Skip to the end for my questions. For the whole story, read on.

This weekend my family and I participated in a local walk for charity. One of the organizers asked me I felt I would take drone video of the event. I'm a bit of a noob...I've been flying my P4P+ for about 4 months...but I was game.

I had a few firsts in this flight. First time around a city. First time around a lot of people. First time someone was counting on me. Suffice it to say, I was a bit nervous.

Everything started out fine. I got some good shots of the start of the event. Then I walked down the road a bit and relaunched and started to follow the walk route. I was walking the route and flying the drone on ahead. Everything was fine and I was feeling pretty good. Then the drone got out about a half mile out from me and I lost signal. I didn't panic yet. I figured I was heading toward the drone and it was heading back to me so I should reaquire. It did and then I realized it was heading to the home point which was about a half mile back. I tried cancelling RTH so I could bring it to me but I kept losing signal and the battery was dying at this point. I still didn't panic and I figured the best thing to do was to let it go home and then I'd go look for it so I turned around and started hoofing it back up the street.