Hero 3 stops recording/locks up

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to the quad world, and have the Phantom 2 in Naza-M mode with H3-3D gimbal, GoPro Hero 3, Storm All-in-One Deluxe, and the iOSD Mini, and noticed the gimbal gets incredibly hot after a few moments of operation. As a result, the GoPro will stop recording and eventually will shut off/lock up (which I imagine is due to some heat protection in the battery but I'm not sure).

I noticed that this problem started after installing the Storm All-in-One FPV system. Even though recording stopped (after approx. 30 seconds or so), I was able to view my first two successive flights on the FPV monitor. After removing the Hero 3 from the gimbal, I noticed that the red light was on in the back and the camera would not respond to any of the buttons.

I've flown the P2 numerous times before installing the FPV system and iOSD Mini, and was able to record all flights without issue. Has anyone else experienced this type of issue? If so, any insight as to what I should start checking would be greatly appreciated.

The Gopro is know to lock up once and a while, this isn't something that's limited to the Phantoms, I've had mine lock up when using it on the Phantom and when not. There's not much you can do about it except to pull the battery on the Gopro to reset it and start over again. I've got to the point to where I no longer use the bracket to secure the Gopro to the gimbal, I use a hair tie instead, that way it's much easier to pull the camera should I need to reset it.

A couple of things you can do that might help.

First make sure you have the latest firmware in the GoPro.
Second is to reformat the card in the GoPro.

Tom