Gimbal Calibration accidentally with stabilizer on

Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
41
Reaction score
5
Age
34
I accidentally started gimbal calibration with the gimbal stabilizer still on, so it couldn't move at all. Apart from the gimbal not being level for that flight, would this have caused long term damage?

Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
1,558
Reaction score
415
Location
Orlando
probably not... did you do a second calibration with the stabilizer removed?
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
645
Reaction score
184
Age
56
Ugh, haven't done that If it works now and will calibrate? Then it is probably okay. If you put the stabilizer on you may want to attach a tag to it so you don't forget it's on there.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
41
Reaction score
5
Age
34
Yeah I did and It worked fine. I'm just kind of worried that it damaged the gimbal in some way. Thanks for responding
 
Joined
May 10, 2015
Messages
3,622
Reaction score
870
Age
77
Location
San Antonio, TX
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
433
Reaction score
396
I've done this. Powered up, noticed the camera wasn't dancing, soiled myself then quickly powered down. I've had 6 or 7 full flights since then. Not a single issue to report....so I think you're good. (That said, I'm sure doing this 20 times would probably not be a good thing.)

I do a gimbal calibration every new battery flight. It's quick...and it makes me feel better.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
40
Reaction score
25
Age
42
I have done this accidentally and flown with it on (since it is basically translucent) and it didn't hurt it at all. I would not recommend doing it on purpose, but for me it didn't cause an issue.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
1,073
Reaction score
213
Location
SoCal, USA
I left mine on the P2 when doing a firmware upgrade. No damage and alot of other guys have brain farted on that with same results.

The P3 has the tag now, but after the scare of the P2 I don't think I'll need it.
 
Joined
May 5, 2015
Messages
2,640
Reaction score
1,586
Location
Oklahoma
Twice I've scratched my head over the Disconnected app message, only to realize I had forgotten to turn on the remote.







 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,707
Messages
1,413,628
Members
99,366
Latest member
Snoopymort