Flying near small airports?

Reaction score
Ok I am a classic over-thinker and trying to do things right over here. I have recently attained my Part 107 certification and have started integrating photography and video into my creative design business.

I am looking to do multiple flights in my town (a small, rural farm town) that has a regional airport (PXE) that I've determined is in Class E airspace (not surface Class E) and under a shelf of Class C (20/100). So in order to fly within 5 miles of this airport, because the lowest airspace starts at 700 ft, is my only action to notify the airport of my activity and that's it?

I have flown both recreationally and commercially within 5 miles of this airport before and had no issues, but I really am trying to do things right. It's the rule breakers to make this so hard for everyone else. I have no prior aeronautical experience.

Reactions: stones
Actually, if you are flying under Part 107 in Class G airspace, you aren't required to notify anyone. Courtesy call to the local airport isn't a bad idea, but you don't need anyone's permission (any local ordinances notwithstanding).

Ah,
Actually, if you are flying under Part 107 in Class G airspace, you aren't required to notify anyone. Courtesy call to the local airport isn't a bad idea, but you don't need anyone's permission (any local ordinances notwithstanding).

Ah, Class G! I knew I was missing something. There is such a fine line between memorizing things and actually applying them.

Thanks for the thoughts!

There is no 5-mile rule for operations under Part 107. That only applies to recreational flying.

Reactions: BigAl07
.... There is such a fine line between memorizing things and actually applying them....

^^^^^^^^^^^ Best answer I've seen in a while.