Finally Got My Color Settings Right

Reaction score
Since I got my P3A I have not been happy with the color I've been getting out of the video. Since all the online "experts" say I MUST shoot in D-Log, I tried that first. I'm a photographer and always shoot in RAW so I figured it's pretty much the same.. But no matter how much (or little) color correction I do in Final Cut Pro X and no matter what LUTs or settings I use, the color/quality with D-LOG was junk. I've also tried "None", and all different Style settings - usually -1,-1,-1 or -2,-2,-2 (or some similar variation)..
Finally I decided, 'skrew it', i'll try a color preset and see how it turns out. According to the 'experts' it should be total junk with no dynamic range and zero shadow details but I wanted to see what that actually means..

I tested out "Vivid" with -1,-1,0 style settings and i love it! I only had to do minor color adjustments in post and it turned out looking pretty darn good. I know all the 'experts' will tell me i'm a fool for not using D-Log or "None" because I'll lose all of my shadow details and and dynamic range, blah blah.. But you know what? I dont care! For me, Vivid and -1,-1,0 gave me the quality and look that I want and I didnt have to spend hours in post to get it..
I did this video yesterday using Vivid -1,-1,0 .. Some of the shots were on manual exposure and some were on Auto.. You'll see in a couple of the shots that when in Auto, it was adjusting/changing exposure so I'll stick with manual.. Also had the white-balance set to Sunny.

Please let me know what you think and what color settings you use and how much/what kind of post processing you have to do.
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Last edited: