Fatal Barometer/Altitude Issue Documented. Please Comment.

rmb

Reaction score
By way of background. I am a very serious pilot. I am a video professional and I have been flying DJI platforms for more than 3 years accident free. I am currently in pilot school, because I believe in doing it right and that knowledge is safety. Lastly I calibrated my IMU and compass early that afternoon and had 2 epic flights without incident.

Fast forward 2 hours:
Right at dusk I wanted to do a quick bay flight. Shortly into the flight I got a warning that said: “Warning:]data exception (In Flight) (Using)”

Shortly there after on an attempt to get back the Phantom became erratic, losing and gaining large altitudes and alternating between being sluggish and then hypersensitive to stick input. Altitude and vertical speed telemetry became unreliable. After a long series of dramatic assents and descents I got the bird back within 1500 ft of me before it went down. I have heard a lot about these unexplained altitude issues and (hopefully for the common good) decided to spend the afternoon putting together a video of the visual flight data and the fpv to show the forum in detail what I experienced. I would sure appreciate it if a few of you would put your eyes on it and give me your feedback. Ultimately I would like the group’s opinion on if this was truly un avoidable due to mechanical failure and if I will have a leg to stand on with DJI.

PS so as to be accurate I did not compress time on this 3min 8 sec flight so you can watch it all or the action begins a 1 minute 24 secs if you just want to cut to the chase.

Vimeo Link:

Password: djip4