DJI GO android update 2.8.1

Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
31
Reaction score
2
Age
40
saw that update on my android too but scared to go ahead update it.. since Im seeing new reviews for today has some bad and some good.... Anyone else went ahead to update, any problem? my phone is SG Grand Prime (android).
 
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
279
Reaction score
81
Age
50
Location
Derbyshire, UK
Didn't notice any difference, I only upgraded by mistake because I accidentally uninstalled the app by mistake, didn't even realise there was a newer version, what's meant to be the issue this time?
 
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
3,012
Reaction score
522
Is 2.7k video option still there ?

They forgot that on iOS but did put it back after a few days.
 

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,854
Reaction score
3,973
Location
Western US

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,854
Reaction score
3,973
Location
Western US
I just updated and I don't see the name change option on my Android. I do now have it on my iPad mini.
Thanks for checking!
 
Joined
May 19, 2016
Messages
65
Reaction score
9
Age
31
I've yet to receive any update notification on my phone. Is there a manual way to update to the latest version. I have a galaxy s4
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2016
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
710
Location
Oregon, USA
Thanks for checking!
no problem, the Android is 2.8.1. Looks like latest iOS is 2.8.2 (2559), so they are still a minor version apart. Maybe name change is still coming when 2.8.2 for Android comes out.

edit: its still buggy I think. I changed my name on my ipad, but it does not show on the Android. when i upload flight logs from android, its the old name still, but from ipad its the new name. it does not allow the additional drones showing up to be cleaned up either, they are stuck in there.

I've yet to receive any update notification on my phone. Is there a manual way to update to the latest version. I have a galaxy s4
Download DJI GO 2.8.1 APK | APKPure.com
that should allow you to download the apk. You need to have the allow 3rd party sources option enabled in settings i think.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
279
Reaction score
81
Age
50
Location
Derbyshire, UK
Come to think of it and reading the posts on video drop outs from the latest 2.8.2 IOS update I did get a video drop out at a distance I usually sail past so I'm wondering if 2.8.1 for android is effectively the same as 2.8.2 IOS with video issues?
 
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Age
64
I use my Kindle Fie HDX and it automatically downloaded the 2.8.1 a few days ago and it seems to work fine. I'm a newbie with the P3 and have only flown it 3 times in beginner mode so far. The Kindle works great except no maps. Not a big deal for me as I'm ALWAYS going to be in visual range.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
115
Reaction score
37
Age
53
Location
Liberty Hill, Texas
I have disabled auto updates on my android tablet.....I don't feel like being a tester for DJI :)

Anyway I use Litchi most times....but I think it does use some of DJI code so I will not rush to update.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2016
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
710
Location
Oregon, USA
I tried 2.8.1 and 32-channel hack was not working
I went back to 2.6.0 and it's working again. is it working for anybody in 2.8.1?

Yes, its working on my Nexus 7 with 2.8.1. Did you try re-copying the file over? it needs to go in the 'Android\data\dji.pilot\files' folder. I just did it on my S6 phone with 2.8.1 installed and it took the 32 channel hack / config file fine. I had to kill the app and re-launch it, but otherwise worked fine.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2016
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
710
Location
Oregon, USA
yes
hm, then it's strange

I'm also looking at a phone without Phantom connected, i can see the channels, but cannot pick any channels .. says "channel 17 set fail" (probably cause its not connected to RC/phantom). I will check more out this afternoon when i get home from work.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2016
Messages
1,375
Reaction score
710
Location
Oregon, USA
yes
hm, then it's strange
So i checked once i got home with the Phantom connected. I tried on both my S6 android phone and my nexus 7 tablet. Both have the file in place and, according to the app the extra channels are showing.

W228Gro.jpg


What was interesting though, is that i had it on custom before the update. I think 2.8.1 update changed that setting back to auto. I also notice that when auto is selected, the additional channels are not available, as seen here:

QASadT2.jpg


I don't know if this was the behavior before or not .. I don't have 2.8.0 to test with, can you check this? it seems that auto is only using the default channels, whereas I recall auto would pick any of the 32 channels prior.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,875
Messages
1,451,403
Members
102,720
Latest member
Toddiman