Definition of Airport and Source of Law

Reaction score
Is any airstrip an airport? In other words, private airstrips at a person's home. Most places I will fly are within 5 miles of these.
Air Map shows all of these as Airports with a 5 mile radius'. The FAA app shows some with 5 miles radius' and some just the location of the private strip with no radius around it.

Does anyone know where the laws pertaining to drones can be found in the U.S. Code or Code of Federal Regulations?

If anyone here is an attorney, I'm trying to learn the laws. I'm a 2L at Maine Law and am taking Legislative and Administrative Law this semester.

You can do a Google search and find the definition pretty easy.I looked it up a few months ago and it was very broad. Pretty much anywhere an aircraft can take off and land.

Personally, I ignore the helipads and very small airports and only call the ones that show up on DJI's map. Is this technically following the law? No.

As a hobbyist, I notify every public and private airport and helipad identified in every app possible (b4uFly, AirMap, Hover, etc.) just to make sure I have my bases covered. Although I have my Part 107 certificate, I haven't flown under it yet...

Reactions: BigAl07
As far as I know if its not on a sectional or on the FAA airport directory (which usually means it has an airport identifier) it is not an "official" airstrip.