Compass error. Exit p-gps mode

Reaction score
Hello. I’m new in DJI... I buy a used DJI phantom 4k... notice some problems with compass. It’s saying “compass error exit p-gps mode” or something like that... what can I do?
I did compass cal and IMU cal. but it didn’t help.

Hello. I’m new in DJI... I buy a used DJI phantom 4k... notice some problems with compass. It’s saying “compass error exit p-gps mode” or something like that... what can I do?
I did compass cal and IMU cal. but it didn’t help.
Are you getting that message in different locations, well away from steel or reinforced concrete?
If so, go into the app settings for Sensors to see what that shows for the compass.
If the compass is disconnected, it will show zero and bring up the compass error message.

btw, you'll need to fully charge the battery before flying.

Reactions: Capt KO
Welcome to the Forum!

To add to already posted, watch where the front of Phantom is actually pointing in relation to the the red pointer in the map window.

Rod

First thing .... get out of town ... find a nice open farm field ... power up and see what it says then.

Forget driveways, roads, sports fields, gardens etc. (most of those have pipes / cables / works under that can affect your compass) - we need a clean area free of any magnetic influences.
It is not wise to keep calibrating compass to try and remove error ... as most errors are external and its matter of moving even a few metres is often enough. If you calibrate - you can be setting an error rather than solving it.

If you still get error ... then it may be the Compass has been calibrated in bad area ... re-calibrate in this clean area. If that cures it - you do not need to calibrate again unless modifications / repairs made to the P3. If it does not - then something is wrong.

Let us know how you get on.

Last edited: