Anyway to check no fly zone thru DJI App ahead of time?

Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Age
40
I'm constantly finding that apps like Hover and others that show no fly zones don't match up exactly with what the DJI app once I get to the location. I don't want to trek all the way somewhere thinking I can fly and then ends up the DJI app says I'm in a no fly area.
Anyway to check a location ahead of time that will match exactly with the DJI App. I find areas near the boarder of no fly zones seem fine on like Hover app and then get there and the DJI app is like a one mile off and I am unable to fly.
Any suggestions?
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
2,409
Reaction score
893
Location
Ohio
Do you cache your maps before you go? Seems that you should see any NFZ on the map when you move to the area where you plan to fly.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
2,409
Reaction score
893
Location
Ohio
So how do you do that? When I pull up the map in the app it doesn't show any of the NFZ.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
Your original post stated that NFZ were showing up on the app! If they don't show up when you are caching, try connecting the RC and AC and powering them up then shift the map to your area of interest. Don't know why it should work that way, but perhaps the app doesn't show NFZs until you are actually ready to fly.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Age
40
Showing up in other apps like Hover etc. but doesn't show in the dji app till you have it connected and are ready to fly. Just seems to be a pain you have to be near the phantom and have it on to check areas ahead of time.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
2,409
Reaction score
893
Location
Ohio
So how do you do that? When I pull up the map in the app it doesn't show any of the NFZ.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
Sorry, just tried it on my tablet (with nothing else connected). No controlled airspace is showing up. Not near any NFZ, but probably won't show either. Bummer, that would surely help with your problem.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2015
Messages
4,851
Reaction score
2,068
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
DJI GEO System - Up-to-date Information On Where to Fly

Click on the link for the map.

The only locations that won't allow you to fly right now are prisons and within 1.5 miles of a large airport. You should probably know if you are at those locations. Other than that, you get a warning. If you have GEO turned on you may need to authorize flight at those locations but you can also turn GEO off at this time.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
2,409
Reaction score
893
Location
Ohio
Showing up in other apps like Hover etc. but doesn't show in the dji app till you have it connected and are ready to fly. Just seems to be a pain you have to be near the phantom and have it on to check areas ahead of time.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
were you able to confirm that they do show up if everything is connected? May be a pain, but certainly better than finding out in the field that you can't fly your planned mission.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
2,409
Reaction score
893
Location
Ohio
DJI GEO System - Up-to-date Information On Where to Fly

Click on the link for the map.

The only locations that won't allow you to fly right now are prisons and within 1.5 miles of a large airport. You should probably know if you are at those locations. Other than that, you get a warning. If you have GEO turned on you may need to authorize flight at those locations but you can also turn GEO off at this time.
Their info actually states that their zones may not match up with other sources! In their 'yellow' and 'red' zones, flight would be prevented. Still doesn't answer how to get the app to show these zones before you go on location!
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2015
Messages
1,290
Reaction score
414
Age
61
Location
Alta, Ca.
Joined
Jan 29, 2015
Messages
4,851
Reaction score
2,068
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
Their info actually states that their zones may not match up with other sources! In their 'yellow' and 'red' zones, flight would be prevented. Still doesn't answer how to get the app to show these zones before you go on location!

The link is to DJI's own map... the same information that the app uses. So you simply pull this map up on a web browser or phone and check this way.

I will also mention that I've flown within an airport boundary (about 200') of the outside 5 mile line and the app did not report I was in any NFZ. I do have GEO turned on.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
81
Reaction score
8
Age
50
You could also try the app "hover" it gives you weather, wind, drone news, map of local airports.... and sometimes even the number to call if you are within the five miles radius..... I live in Lansing mi..... it shows all of the local fields as well.... one of which isn't even in use anymore as it was just field for a crop duster.....

Sent from my SM-G935T using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
3
Age
40
Didn't realize the DJI site had a look up there. That's exactly what I was looking for! I use Hover and that's the app I get conflicts with at time.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
139,571
Messages
1,439,839
Members
101,350
Latest member
tb1125