“Update” P4P to V2 via software?

Rep

Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
Michigan
I’m new to the P4P world, and purchased a low-use pre-owned unit with lots of extras. I know very little about these awesome drones, but am becoming familiar slowly. Can’t wait to get to a level of confidence where I can let the grandkids assume the controls and know enough to jump in when necessary.

Looking at what seem to be minimal differences between my model and the V2, I wonder whether there’s a way to turn it into the V2, or is that just wishful thinking? Thanks for offering replies.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
816
Age
54
Location
Canada
There is no way to update to a V2. One of the main differences of the V2 is the addition of a switch in the battery compartment that tells the aircraft the battery is fully inserted. This fixed an issue with batteries coming loose in the V1. The FW for each version is different and not interchangable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gppms and Rep

Rep

Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
Michigan
Thank you. Based upon viewing this forum and the multiple instances of dislodged battery incidents, I now double check the battery is locked before flying.

There is no way to update to a V2. One of the main differences of the V2 is the addition of a switch in the battery compartment that tells the aircraft the battery is fully inserted. This fixed an issue with batteries coming loose in the V1. The FW for each version is different and not interchangable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3rdof5
Joined
Mar 12, 2014
Messages
326
Reaction score
64
There is no way to update to a V2. One of the main differences of the V2 is the addition of a switch in the battery compartment that tells the aircraft the battery is fully inserted. This fixed an issue with batteries coming loose in the V1. The FW for each version is different and not interchangable.

The other difference is the hardware , the p4p v2 has the latest dji’s transmission system named ocusync and also new speed controllers.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jephoto and Rep

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,699
Reaction score
8,694
Looking at what seem to be minimal differences between my model and the V2, I wonder whether there’s a way to turn it into the V2, or is that just wishful thinking? Thanks for offering replies.
Even if you could, you wouldn't notice any difference.
The mid-model update to the P4 pro was like a car manufacturer changing the grille and tail lights - it made no real difference.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rep
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
225
Reaction score
60
Age
75
Thank you. Based upon viewing this forum and the multiple instances of dislodged battery incidents, I now double check the battery is locked before flying.


The V2 has a very sophisticated camera module that makes focus adjustments. There is no software in the regular P4P FW to accommodate the V2 version. Photo attached of the cam module internals.
 

Attachments

  • P1010192.JPG
    P1010192.JPG
    3.6 MB · Views: 57
  • Like
Reactions: Thanohano44

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,309
Messages
1,446,383
Members
102,077
Latest member
Gods Grace