You must be logged in to get firmware updates

Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
1,125
Reaction score
799
Age
59
Location
Sterling Heights, MI
Maybe everyone already knows and I’m the last to find out but I thought I’d share. Had to use an older, backup drone and iPad today. Hopped right into Go 4 and fired up drone. It did the firmware update check without finding anything.

Then I remembered there was an update for the P4 Pro V2 firmware; I looked and see I’m using a prior version. I tried to check again and still nothing. So I flew on.

Later I wanted to upload the flight records and that’s when Go asked me to log into DJIs server. Ahha moment. I reconnected the drone and suddenly, new firmware version found!

Side note: In days of old (last year) I would have to connect the USB cable to the drone from the iPad to perform a firmware update. This time it performed the update without a cable to the drone (just plugged in per usual to the RC). At the very end of the update, it asked me to unplug and reinsert the data cable. So I unplugged the iPad from the controller and plugged it back in and ... tada! All is well. This is a nice change. Don’t know when that happened.

Hope this is helpful to someone.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone
Joined
Dec 6, 2019
Messages
295
Reaction score
245
Age
105
Maybe everyone already knows and I’m the last to find out but I thought I’d share. Had to use an older, backup drone and iPad today. Hopped right into Go 4 and fired up drone. It did the firmware update check without finding anything.

Then I remembered there was an update for the P4 Pro V2 firmware; I looked and see I’m using a prior version. I tried to check again and still nothing. So I flew on.

Later I wanted to upload the flight records and that’s when Go asked me to log into DJIs server. Ahha moment. I reconnected the drone and suddenly, new firmware version found!

Side note: In days of old (last year) I would have to connect the USB cable to the drone from the iPad to perform a firmware update. This time it performed the update without a cable to the drone (just plugged in per usual to the RC). At the very end of the update, it asked me to unplug and reinsert the data cable. So I unplugged the iPad from the controller and plugged it back in and ... tada! All is well. This is a nice change. Don’t know when that happened.

Hope this is helpful to someone.
I updated my P4P v2 firmware a few months ago. Does anyone know if there's been a newer recent update?
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
342
Reaction score
131
Age
29
Location
U.S.A.
Sometimes updating firmware without know its contents can be a major disappointment, what did the update contain that you wanted, if you don't mind me asking......,.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2016
Messages
2,259
Reaction score
1,349
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Sometimes updating firmware without know its contents can be a major disappointment, what did the update contain that you wanted, if you don't mind me asking......,.
The last update for the V2(long awaited)turned out to be beneficial in my opinion. That may be a bit of a debate to some, but for the ones I have, I saw improvement.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2018
Messages
342
Reaction score
131
Age
29
Location
U.S.A.
The last update for the V2(long awaited)turned out to be beneficial in my opinion. That may be a bit of a debate to some, but for the ones I have, I saw improvement.

Ok that’s good , but I’m curious as to what the OP has to say about it
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
1,440
Reaction score
370
Location
Chicago
Maybe everyone already knows and I’m the last to find out but I thought I’d share. Had to use an older, backup drone and iPad today. Hopped right into Go 4 and fired up drone. It did the firmware update check without finding anything.

Then I remembered there was an update for the P4 Pro V2 firmware; I looked and see I’m using a prior version. I tried to check again and still nothing. So I flew on.

Later I wanted to upload the flight records and that’s when Go asked me to log into DJIs server. Ahha moment. I reconnected the drone and suddenly, new firmware version found!

Side note: In days of old (last year) I would have to connect the USB cable to the drone from the iPad to perform a firmware update. This time it performed the update without a cable to the drone (just plugged in per usual to the RC). At the very end of the update, it asked me to unplug and reinsert the data cable. So I unplugged the iPad from the controller and plugged it back in and ... tada! All is well. This is a nice change. Don’t know when that happened.

Hope this is helpful to someone.
Hey Drestin,

Curious if you are using the latest IOS on the iPad?
I'm still on IOS 11.xx with my 2018 iPad 9.7" because I've been really reluctant to upgrade the IOS in case it makes things wonky. Nor have I don any P4Pv2 updates since late 2018 either.
My philosophy has been "if it aint broke, don't fix it..."

What IOS are you using now and have you had any issues flying?
I actually haven't flown at all since late November .....
 

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
142,317
Messages
1,462,084
Members
104,082
Latest member
DarioP3S