Why two 2.4ghz antennas

Joined
Mar 4, 2018
Messages
110
Reaction score
22
Age
37
Why two 2.4ghz antennas on control what
I know that they are video but why do you need two I’m asking this because I’m looking at buying some boosters but not sure if I need two or just one
 

Fly Dawg

Premium Pilot
Joined
Apr 29, 2016
Messages
4,121
Reaction score
1,797
Location
Watkinsville, Georgia
What are you asking? A P3 Standard has only 1 antenna on the RC.......
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2018
Messages
110
Reaction score
22
Age
37
What are you asking? A P3 Standard has only 1 antenna on the RC.......
One you can see witch is the 5ghz one there are all so two within the control I’ve all so modded my controller so there both out side now
 

Fly Dawg

Premium Pilot
Joined
Apr 29, 2016
Messages
4,121
Reaction score
1,797
Location
Watkinsville, Georgia
Well, that makes better sense. I knew the other was internal. I should have stated "external". Can't really answer that one in reference to the modifications you made.
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
1,529
Reaction score
1,310
Location
Kansas
I've read it before here as to why two tiny antennas small like a "cheese it cracker" that are internal in the RC unit.........the way i understand it is this : one transmits and the other receives ~ makes sense dont it !
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2018
Messages
110
Reaction score
22
Age
37
I've read it before here as to why two tiny antennas small like a "cheese it cracker" that are internal in the RC unit.........the way i understand it is this : one transmits and the other receives ~ makes sense dont it !
5ghz one controls the drone .what the camera sees is sent back to the controller why do you need two 2.4gbz
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
13
Age
65
5ghz one controls the drone .what the camera sees is sent back to the controller why do you need two 2.4gbz
I recently asked about how the two antennas work. It was explained to me that the rc uses diversity reception. It has two separate receivers, and switches back and forth between them, checking for the best signal.
5ghz one controls the drone .what the camera sees is sent back to the controller why do you need two 2.4gbz
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2018
Messages
110
Reaction score
22
Age
37
I recently asked about how the two antennas work. It was explained to me that the rc uses diversity reception. It has two separate receivers, and switches back and forth between them, checking for the best signal.
So if I’m looking at putting boosters on my controller then it needs too be x3 two 2.5ghz and one 5ghz one ?
IMG_2102.jpg
but look at this modded controller I found on the internet the 2.5gbz one on the left is not being boosted only the other two are
 
  • Like
Reactions: kevla
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
1,529
Reaction score
1,310
Location
Kansas
Heres a good picture.....of the two 2.4 antenna plugs and the one 5.8 antenna plugs !
Antenna plugs.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: infinite
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
1,529
Reaction score
1,310
Location
Kansas
Man......some of that added antenna hardware....sure adds quite a bit of forward weight.......id take that in consideration IF i was going to add that type of antenna
then you have added battery's to recharge !
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
30
Reaction score
13
Age
65
So if I’m looking at putting boosters on my controller then it needs too be x3 two 2.5ghz and one 5ghz one ? View attachment 97967 but look at this modded controller I found on the internet the 2.5gbz one on the left is not being boosted only the other two are
You don't have to use two boosters. The receiver with the stronger signal would be the one used. Two would be better, but not necessary.
 
  • Like
Reactions: stu2b2
Joined
Mar 4, 2018
Messages
110
Reaction score
22
Age
37
You don't have to use two boosters. The receiver with the stronger signal would be the one used. Two would be better, but not necessary.

IMG_2107.jpg
IMG_2108.jpg


I’m thinking of giving these ago I think they should work right

I’m not trying to break any distance world records but just don’t won’t to keep getting video lost feeds then drone lost
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2016
Messages
111
Reaction score
17
Age
43
What drone is that I’m curious? If it was mine I would hook up all three I’m sure it would help the range like no other!
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2018
Messages
110
Reaction score
22
Age
37
A 5volt power bank with 3 line outs and it’s a phantom 3 standard
IMG_1819.jpg

So going to put them on and see what we get
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2014
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
675
Location
Westford, MA

Forum statistics

Threads
134,466
Messages
1,391,058
Members
98,023
Latest member
RespectMyAuthoritahh