Why did my Phantom crash

Reaction score
So i was flying my phantom 2 as I usually do in the soccer fields and my phantom just lost control and took a dive straight into the ground. Not sure what happened and why it happend so I'm looking for some possible reasons from members of the forum.

To give you some background I've been flying for about 5 months or so and I have a phantom 2, H3-3D and lightbridge for FPV. I did not calibrate my compass before flight but had done the processes about a month prior. I had about 8 satellites before taking off so I had GPS connection. I've update both phantom and light bridge to the latest firmware. This was the first flight with the GoPro4 installed in the gimbal with a coin to balance as many have suggested. Some time after the crash I did notice another person flying a phantom 1 in another near soccer field. I did not see this person when I took of so I think they came after I stared flying. The link to the video is below. I had to order a new shell and I'm not sure I can fix the gamble yet. it got pretty bent up. Comments are greatly appreciated. BTW I'm 42 but you will see my kids in the video as they picked up the phantom. So no its was not a 12 year old flying.. ;-)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bh0Zgj8ho-A

Were the Phantom motors still running when it crashed? Did you try starting the Phantom again after the crash to see if it ran? Was the battery new or old?

The battery flew out during the crash so the motors where off. I did not try to restart it after the crash. The battery is actually brand new just came in the mail. I made sure that the battery also updated to latest firmware.

Pop the top and check out the internal connections and component for failure. Possible motor ESC failure?

So I looked under the hood, everything looks fine. I see no lose connections or areas of concern. I put the battery in and it started without any issues. All motors turned.