WARNING for P4 Buyers

Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
512
Reaction score
169
Location
Sarnia ON Canada
Just a quick note if you are buying an iPad for the Phantom 4. It's clear to me now that the iPad Air 2 has a software/firmware problem with the P3 . . and vice vera. I had a new P4 with iPad 4 Mini . . . worked great. Tried to get a bigger screen (iPad Air 2) . . both 64Gig latest iOS. Whenever you try to connect the Air to a P4 it thinks the P3 is a P3Pro and will only allow connection as a P3 . . . which means, no Camera and no P4 functions. I switched it back to the P4 . . . works perfectly. I had done a return at BEST BUY. They were very good even though I was just over the 2 week grace period . . . they sold me the iPad Air 10" screen for just $50 more. Then I spent the entire evening and 5am to 9am the next morning trying all the great suggestions on this and other Foums. NOTHING worked. Thanks CCDD nice try but no joy. When I went back to the store the next day ( only 14hrs later they could not be nicer and understood . .. swapped it out right away an transferred everything but the dji GO app . . back flying again and happy as S%*t. I'd say considering an iPad Air 2. . . . don't bother. It will just make more gray hairs.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Aunt G and flpholt
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
1,396
Reaction score
539
Not really sure what you're actually talking about. Why is this a warning, because something happened to you?
 
  • Like
Reactions: AUSPETE and Oso

alokbhargava

Premium Pilot
Joined
Sep 28, 2015
Messages
6,943
Reaction score
2,324
Location
San Francisco, CA
Just a quick note if you are buying an iPad for the Phantom 4. It's clear to me now that the iPad Air 2 has a software/firmware problem with the P3 . . and vice vera. I had a new P4 with iPad 4 Mini . . . worked great. Tried to get a bigger screen (iPad Air 2) . . both 64Gig latest iOS. Whenever you try to connect the Air to a P4 it thinks the P3 is a P3Pro and will only allow connection as a P3 . . . which means, no Camera and no P4 functions. I switched it back to the P4 . . . works perfectly. I had done a return at BEST BUY. They were very good even though I was just over the 2 week grace period . . . they sold me the iPad Air 10" screen for just $50 more. Then I spent the entire evening and 5am to 9am the next morning trying all the great suggestions on this and other Foums. NOTHING worked. Thanks CCDD nice try but no joy. When I went back to the store the next day ( only 14hrs later they could not be nicer and understood . .. swapped it out right away an transferred everything but the dji GO app . . back flying again and happy as S%*t. I'd say considering an iPad Air 2. . . . don't bother. It will just make more gray hairs.
Not sure what was the problem with your iPad Air 2. I have iPad mini 2 and iPad Air 2 and couple more iOS devices and I'm able to use all of them with RC and AC
 
Joined
May 3, 2015
Messages
3,974
Reaction score
1,358
Age
68
Location
Edmonton Alberta
Impeccable Air 2 64gb Cellular here. Never an interruption or problematic concern. Awesome performance since day one. ;-)

RedHotPoker
 
Joined
May 17, 2015
Messages
231
Reaction score
70
Age
75
Location
Clovis, NM
I have a P3P and use an iPad Air 2 wifi+cellular. Other than the crappy display in sunlight - I haven't experienced any issues with the system.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
77
Reaction score
57
Age
63
iPad Air 2 - iPhone 6 - iPad 2 all work great with my P3P although iPad 2 screen too large for holder on the RC but hey l can live with that
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
512
Reaction score
169
Location
Sarnia ON Canada
Not really sure what you're actually talking about. Why is this a warning, because something happened to you?
I just meant don't spend a bunch of money on an iPad Air 2 and and all the frustration and have to deal with sending it back and etc . . trying to save people the aggravation I went through even though I did not lose any money. Maybe WARNING was the wrong word . . I was just very frustrated after the whole ordeal.
Cheers!
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
23
Reaction score
5
Age
68
Just a quick note if you are buying an iPad for the Phantom 4. It's clear to me now that the iPad Air 2 has a software/firmware problem with the P3 . . and vice vera. I had a new P4 with iPad 4 Mini . . . worked great. Tried to get a bigger screen (iPad Air 2) . . both 64Gig latest iOS. Whenever you try to connect the Air to a P4 it thinks the P3 is a P3Pro and will only allow connection as a P3 . . . which means, no Camera and no P4 functions. I switched it back to the P4 . . . works perfectly. I had done a return at BEST BUY. They were very good even though I was just over the 2 week grace period . . . they sold me the iPad Air 10" screen for just $50 more. Then I spent the entire evening and 5am to 9am the next morning trying all the great suggestions on this and other Foums. NOTHING worked. Thanks CCDD nice try but no joy. When I went back to the store the next day ( only 14hrs later they could not be nicer and understood . .. swapped it out right away an transferred everything but the dji GO app . . back flying again and happy as S%*t. I'd say considering an iPad Air 2. . . . don't bother. It will just make more gray hairs.


This may vary by specific model / carriers. I have a iPad Air 2 that works great with both my Phantom 3 Pro and my Phantom 4! It happens to be one I got from Sprint..... don't know if that makes a difference. Just my input.
 
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
61
Reaction score
27
Age
36
I had this issue with my P3A when I switched to an IPad Air 2 from my iPhone 6. I couldn't use it at all though. I wiped the IPad Air through iTunes after putting it in DFU mode and it resolved the issue and was showing as a P3A instead of a P3S. These instructions were from CCDD in a previous forum and it must be in DFU mode and restored as new.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
141,467
Messages
1,455,915
Members
103,255
Latest member
lattoniccrow