Reaction score
i was flying my aircraft today in the beach where I normally go. Not high, not far, just practising manoeuvres for my PfCO. But I noticed that it was getting very high, and indeed almost at the point of not being able to see it when it was on the farthest leg of the square I was flying.
I believe it had been caught up in an updraught, or thermal. There had been some Mamma clouds mixed in with a stratocumulus layer gradually encroaching, which I knew meant serious vertical motion, but I had thought they were far enough away not to worry. Clearly I was wrong. Nearly got caught out, in one of those tummy turning moments when you think the precious craft will vanish. Serious reduction in height by moving the left stick well down , and the right stick to take the craft further away from the edge of what I now know to be a cold front.
A gentle warning to all about how volatile the atmosphere can be. I should have known better too I have been an amateur and professional meteorologist for fifty years. Always check the weather properly before flying. Today I didn't and nearly lost .
More can be found in these clouds here
Mammatus cloud - Wikipedia

Reactions: erickwill
That's an interesting theory. It's hard to believe an updraft that strong could take your craft up so much since the craft, with no stick input, will automatically maintain elevation. The craft is capable of up to about 10mph vertically (maybe it's 11mph, not sure). However, if the barometric pressure radically changed in the flight area, that may fool the barometer in the craft to think it needs to elevate. But I find it hard to believe the barometric pressure can change that much, to take your craft out of sight with no stick input. Good story though, and now I'm wondering how this happened. Was it windy where you were?