Update P4 or Not?

Reaction score
I have been flying my P4 using the Litchi app and am totally happy with my performance. This combination does all I need to do and I don't have any issues. Being an engineer by trade I tend to always have things updated to the latest versions. However, after reading all the horror stories on here I have a simple question.

Since I am happy with my flying is there any reason to update to the latest firmware or should I just stay with what's working for me?

It's really your call. If you're sure you'll gain nothing by updating, then updating is likely not going to improve anything for you.

My upgrade went flawlessly. I did the upgrade when it was first released and no reports of unstable flying brought on by the new firmware had been posted yet.

If I were facing the upgrade decision today, I'd try find the percentage of users who experienced problems.

This way I'd have some idea of my chances of success. If 1 out of 10 had problems I'd be more inclined to upgrade than I would if 9 out of 10 had problems.

Reactions: ifsteve
My advice is not update, I updated and the camera is reset in mid-flight. Go through the DJI forums and you will see all the people with problems and DJI doing nothing, almost a month later.

My upgrade went flawlessly as well, and I have not noticed any of the issues that others are reporting.

In fact, the tilted horizon that has been a constant annoyance since I first got the P4, is now gone. It holds the horizon perfectly straight after this update. I also really like 'Tripod' mode. This allows for some very smooth filming of static or slow moving subjects, and it works great for this.

That said, the issues that some folks are reporting are very significant and can really take the fun out of this hobby, and, there is no straightforward way to revert to any prior firmware.