P3 Firmware Update horrors

Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
24
Reaction score
1
Age
46
Well i think these phantoms are rightly named because they drive you to dispear nearly 3 months of countless videos numerous attempts to force update or downgrade replacing cameras and antennas my p3se still does nothing all i get is signall weak and connect aircraft but i have noticed this in the dji app but no matter wat i do i cant change it
15917409045637654964152987942718.jpg
 

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,130
Reaction score
775
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
I assume because it cannot update any farther than it already is. In the box that says select firmware version it says none. If you do a search in this forum, you will find many threads referring to the weak signal and what others have done to correct the problem.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
24
Reaction score
1
Age
46
Omg it's as frustrating as my partner the worse bit is unlike when the missus sh....ts you you go out for a fish or something , these blinken things just keep going bake to it and trying to fix it
 

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,130
Reaction score
775
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
So would you not recommend a P3 of any kind at this point?
A P3SE and P34K use WiFi for signal where as P3P and P3P used lightbridge for signal. My personal preference is the P3P and P3A. Never have a problem with them,,,and have flown out over 10,000 feet without loss of signal. Of coarse I now fly VLOS, but no worries about signal.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gunner370

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,130
Reaction score
775
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Omg it's as frustrating as my partner the worse bit is unlike when the missus sh....ts you you go out for a fish or something , these blinken things just keep going bake to it and trying to fix it
I’m not a fan of P3’s that use WiFi, especially in high WiFi interference areas like in high populated areas.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
59
Reaction score
20
Age
76
Location
England
A P3SE and P34K use WiFi for signal where as P3P and P3P used lightbridge for signal. My personal preference is the P3P and P3A. Never have a problem with them,,,and have flown out over 10,000 feet without loss of signal. Of coarse I now fly VLOS, but no worries about signal.
Got my P3A over 2 years ago, updated shortly after and have never updated since. Never had any bother so don't see any point in changing what ain't broken.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2019
Messages
61
Reaction score
22
Age
70
Location
Victoria B.C. Canada
This whole process is an all encompassing endeavour. When you consider all of the complexity and interacting tech I have come to the conclusion that the thrill and the sense of accomplishment when that bird comes back from a 20 minute mission is all the reward I need
 
  • Like
Reactions: KachemakDiver
Joined
Jun 19, 2017
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Age
74
Got my P3A over 2 years ago, updated shortly after and have never updated since. Never had any bother so don't see any point in changing what ain't broken.
Haven't flown my P3a in 18 months. Have new phone now. The software I download to put on my phone will be a much newer version. Will they still talk to each other?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,511
Messages
1,448,396
Members
102,306
Latest member
ixf4414