Telling me not to fly there: is he right?

Reaction score
First off, I follow the recreational flyer rules, I'm FAA registered, I'm not a newbie, I'm certainly not one of those "how dare any person or agency tell ME where to fly!" fools. I also like to help educate the public, including those who think I'm creepy for piloting a camera in the sky, etc. etc.

I'm flying on the Seattle waterfront, north of downtown (far from the skyscrapers and most tourist areas). For those that know the area: this was NNW of the Olympic Sculpture Park (link for those that don't know there area), not over the people in the park itself.

There is not a NFZ nearby (INTL airports are far away as are the pro sports stadiums), but like a lot of areas around Seattle (with air harbors, helicopters, etc.), I got the "Unpaved airports" warning from DJI GO. For those of you that live in urban areas and get this warning, you know what to do: keep your ears and eyes open.

This guy comes down and tells me that I'm not supposed to be flying anywhere around here.

"You need a commercial license to fly around here"

Me: "No, I don't believe I do."
Him: "Yes you do."
Me: "Are you a pilot?"
Him: "Yes."
Me, pointing to the controller: "Of a UAV?"
Him: "No. My wife is a commercial UAV pilot."

I didn't ask him what kind of certificate she had or how old it is. I just said "You realize that as a recreational flyer, I can fly anywhere that isn't a No Fly Zone or otherwise prohibited, if I follow FAA guidelines" (not pushing the point that these are not actual laws to break). To my knowledge, there was no prohibition for flying in these parts.

Me: "You realize that the rules regarding these things change often?"

Here I am hoping that he went home to double check the current rules. I considered informing him that he should, but didn't.