Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard GPS vs Advanced/Pro GPS

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by SpaceDan, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. SpaceDan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have an Advanced, got a crack in the shell, so while it is being repaired I decided to buy a Standard (4K).

    I've noticed I'm going getting about 5 satellites connecting with the Standard, compared to 10-15 with the Advanced. And I quite often get a message saying "Atti Mode" because it loses GPS signal entirely momentarily.

    So from what I'm reading, the Standard/4K does not have GLONASS satellites, so does that mean that you'll always have fewer satellites connected than the Adv/Pro, and you're more likely to get a message that you're in Atti mode?

    Thanks
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9,917
    Likes Received:
    4,821
    US GPS and Glonass are two separate satellite systems.
    The Phantom Adv and Pro can tune in to both and that gives them more sats.
    But the Phantom won't work with 3 GPS + 3 Glonass.
    The deck is bigger but the Phantom still has to have a full hand of either stye to have a good position.
    But there are lots of satellites up there so this isn't a problem.
    Here's a display of available sats at one location.
    The squares are Glonass and the circles are GPS.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. OrlyP

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Metro Manila, Philippines
    Yup.. as you've described it, that's exactly what's happening. The Standard can only receive GPS but none of the GLONASS. It makes the Standard slightly less accurate and takes a bit longer to acquire its position. In other words, it can only receive roughly half of the satellites of what the Advanced/Pro is capable of.
     
  4. firestars

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    25
    Glonass is not worth worrying about. It adds minimal accuracy.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Standard GPS Advanced Forum Date
Phantom 3 Standard - No GPS No Satellites?? Standard/4k Discussion Jul 14, 2017
GPS Difference Standard vs P34K? Standard/4k Discussion Apr 15, 2017
(Sold)Phantom 3 standard upper and lower shell w/gps Classifieds Apr 5, 2017
Standard Not getting GPS to work on my P3 Standard Phantom 3 Help Jan 21, 2017
P3 standard losing GPS signal Standard/4k Discussion Jan 20, 2017