Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

stable hover

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Skipholiday, May 7, 2015.

  1. Skipholiday

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    Received my P3 and it's amazing how stable it hovers. Zero drift. I have 3 other phantoms I would like to be this stable. Is there a mod or mods that will lock it in hover like the P3? P3 got 17 sat lock in seconds. I never get over 11. Any help or information is appreciated.
     
    #1 Skipholiday, May 7, 2015
    Last edited: May 7, 2015
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,648
    Likes Received:
    7,788
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
  3. StevenQX

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Italy
    Stable over don't depends of satellite count, when you get 10 is more than enough. You've to check prop balance and IMU calibration. And with p3 you get more satellite because is GPS+ GLONASS while P2 is only GPS.
     
  4. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,248
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Virginia
    StevenQX is right. The satellites only gives your quad it location. The stability is due to the sensors and IMU calibration. There are threads where some users were having drift issues then after a proper IMU calibration they were stable and could spin on a dime. Key is compass calibration for direction (north) and IMU for its axis XYZ and the accelerometer for pitch and roll. The gyroscope will correct any drift the quad starts to have within it tolerance levels. All the info is gathered and adjusted by the main controller. So stability is controlled by sensors. Hope this helps.
     
    Skipholiday likes this.
  5. Skipholiday

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    thank so much. Im upgrading all my props to the 9450 as well.
    currently I have the P2 with H33D gimball it was the most stable, then I have the PV2 with RotoPixal, it does ok but drifts witin a foot of hover location.
    Same with my PV2+v2 it hovers but not stable. The PV3 when you stop it it acts like its on a stick, its locked in hover. I was totally impressed.
    I love them all.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - stable hover Forum Date
**VIDEO** ANY IDEAS WHY IT WONT HOVER STABLE?? Standard/4k Discussion May 28, 2017
Unstable hovering, "wobbling" Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Mar 27, 2017
Watch "Dji Phantom 4 Pro super stable hover" on YouTube Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Dec 7, 2016
Standard Unstable hover Phantom 3 Help Oct 29, 2016
Unstable hovering Pro/Adv Discussion Oct 23, 2016