Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

So I switched off my remote and tried return to home....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Alex, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. Alex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    Out in a big field, I got the Phantom about 50' away, maybe 20-30' up. I switched off the controller and saw the status indicator light immediately start to blink rapidly (Yellow I think?)

    I was expecting the Phantom to pop up, return to home and land.

    Instead, it popped up, returned to the home location, and then proceeded to come down to maybe 10'. Then it circled my son and I. Twice. Then it proceeded to fly about 20' away from the home position and start to land.

    When it landed, it came down pretty aggressively and bounced a few times. Once it started to settle, I figured that was it, but it managed to flip itself up onto the top, gear up, rotors down.

    Here's where it got interesting. I ran over and grabbed the landing skid and picked up the Phantom, which I can only assume thought it must be airborne again because the props immediately spun up to a high speed.

    So kids, remember, just cause the props aren't spinning, doesn't mean the **** thing can't decide to turn back on. Luckily no one was hurt, including the Phantom.
     
  2. Sac D

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northern California
    Does this mean the "home position" was not set? Or not active? Hmmm...
     
  3. hit-n-run

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    74
    This is why I have not tested the rth feature
     
  4. gringorio

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Baja California Sur
    Try reading the user manual in detail...
     
  5. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5,266
    Likes Received:
    1,719
    This thread is older than dirt. OP was flying an original Phantom.

    Today's satellite positioning ability and RTH are rock solid.
     
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11,490
    Likes Received:
    5,932
    RTH is very reliable but the day you need it is the worst day to try learning how to use it.
    It's one of the most important systems to understand.
     
    With The Birds likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - switched off remote Forum Date
Video feed won't work on my P3s unless mobile data is switched off Standard Jan 9, 2017
Started in P mode, switched to ATTI mode by itself, although plenty of satellites Pro/Adv Discussion Jul 8, 2017
Switched from P4P to Mavic... General Discussion Jun 11, 2017
Just switched to wondershare. Editing (Photo and Video) Feb 23, 2017
Compass Redundancy Switched--But Not in Flight Logs Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Feb 19, 2017