RTH problem

Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
31
Hallo Pilots!!

F-16 here... Im new phantom 4 pilot, i fly 3 or 4 months. Everything was fine until a week ago. I* started RTH mode with sensors but the drone just went heigher and heigher. I saw a conversation about the same issue from another p4 pilot but after i reset the drone and recalibrate the sensors nothing seems to get better. I got the same issue.


Can anyone helpme?


Thank you!!
F-16
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,830
Reaction score
3,888
Location
Western US
Hallo Pilots!!

F-16 here... Im new phantom 4 pilot, i fly 3 or 4 months. Everything was fine until a week ago. I* started RTH mode with sensors but the drone just went heigher and heigher. I saw a conversation about the same issue from another p4 pilot but after i reset the drone and recalibrate the sensors nothing seems to get better. I got the same issue.


Can anyone helpme?


Thank you!!
F-16
Welcome!

We have seen this reported numerous times. Check out the thread below and the link it includes pertaining to FW.

 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
31
Thank you for your immidiately response!

I have a few questions though.....

1) What is VPS
2)What is Gimbal Protector

I use the latest FW!!

Thank you to be so patient!!!
 

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,961
Reaction score
4,715
Age
51
Location
NZ
Yip welcome F-16
Gimble protector just a add on part that saves some damage if minor crashes ....VPS is the downward sensors,,mechanical sonar sends pulse to ground and back to help with the drone showing height and has monocular cams on either side of these little speakers,,helps with smart return home for accurate landings,they not work well over reflective surfaces ,,you can find heaps of info by downloading the online manual just with simple Google search,,its covers everything you need to know which normal booklet dont have....also check your RTH setting ,,it should stop at this determined height before rth fully engages
Screenshot_20210505-081347_Google.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: MTO

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,830
Reaction score
3,888
Location
Western US
I use the latest FW!!
Did you use the link pertaining to FW in the other thread as I mentioned earlier. If not, here it is again. It mentions how downgrading FW has helped multiple people with this issue. As with everything, your mileage may vary.
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,774
Reaction score
8,772
Hallo Pilots!!

F-16 here... Im new phantom 4 pilot, i fly 3 or 4 months. Everything was fine until a week ago. I* started RTH mode with sensors but the drone just went heigher and heigher. I saw a conversation about the same issue from another p4 pilot but after i reset the drone and recalibrate the sensors nothing seems to get better. I got the same issue.
If you can post the recorded flight data from the flight incident, I can check that to confirm whether the VPS sensors are the issue (or not).

Go to DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help
Follow the instructions there to upload your flight record from your phone or tablet.
That will give you a detailed report of the flight.
Come back and post a link to the report it gives you.
Or .. just post the txt file here.
 
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
31
Did you use the link pertaining to FW in the other thread as I mentioned earlier. If not, here it is again. It mentions how downgrading FW has helped multiple people with this issue. As with everything, your mileage may vary.
I Refresh The fw from DJI assistant before y yesterday flight
 
  • Sad
Reactions: Oso
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
31
If you can post the recorded flight data from the flight incident, I can check that to confirm whether the VPS sensors are the issue (or not).

Go to DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help
Follow the instructions there to upload your flight record from your phone or tablet.
That will give you a detailed report of the flight.
Come back and post a link to the report it gives you.
Or .. just post the txt file here.
Are my logs that files with .DAT??

I had one download to my PC from DJI assistant. But when i open the Flight data to read that it is empty

what am i doing wrong??
 
  • Sad
Reactions: Oso
Joined
May 5, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
2
Age
68
If you can post the recorded flight data from the flight incident, I can check that to confirm whether the VPS sensors are the issue (or not).

Go to DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help
Follow the instructions there to upload your flight record from your phone or tablet.
That will give you a detailed report of the flight.
Come back and post a link to the report it gives you.
Or .. just post the txt file here.
If you updated to 810 go back to the previous version, problem solved. Happened to me also.after an update.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Meta4 and Oso

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,597
Messages
1,449,159
Members
102,400
Latest member
BenGur