Retiring from military, starting business, need advice

Reaction score
Howdy from Texas! I’m retiring from the Army this Sunmer and am starting a home inspection business. I have a service related condition that prevents me from climbing on roofs, so I am getting my drone pilot license and plan to survey roofs remotely. I’d also like to expand my drone services in the future as my skill level and experience allow.

I am currently a drone hobbyist and have experience flying my Altair Hornet and sky viper scout.

What I need for you guys is some solid advice on what model drone and accompanying software and accessories would best work for this service? From my online research I am leaning toward a phantom 4 Pro, but I’m not locked into that decision.

Also any business advice and potential pitfalls would be nice. I don’t like to pick my way through a minefield if I can follow someone else who has already made it through successfully.

Thanks in advance!

CW2 Lawrence Allhands
NETOPS
G6 DHHB, 36th ID

Last edited:
Reactions: dirkclod
Why the Mavic 2 Zoom is better for you - DroneDJ try the mavic 2 zoom, the x4 zoom is what you’ll want to inspect close without having to manually get close to the roofing.

It has omnidirectional obstacle avoidance, the longest flight time, and is quite portable, giving you ease of setup/travel, and the mavic 2 zoom provides the same high quality photos you’d expect from a pro drone, with the newest safety features and flight autonomy you’d expect from dji.

Last edited:
Reactions: MotorCycle-Man
I’d also like to expand my drone services in the future as my skill level and experience allow.
Any ideas as to the services you might offer down the road?

What I need for you guys is some solid advice on what model drone and accompanying software and accessories would best work for this service?