Real Estate Video Basics

Reaction score
I'm going to be doing some real estate aerial video as a favor to some friends that own hotels and rental properties in a small resort town. Being a complete photography newb I was wondering if there is a comprehensive list of basics built somewhere that I could familiarize myself with to get the best results.

Does aerial video have a set of best practices, others interested in the same thing please chime in. This may be a good thread to consolidate a lot of standard techniques for rookies.

Loon said:
I'm going to be doing some real estate aerial video as a favor to some friends that own hotels and rental properties in a small resort town. Being a complete photography newb I was wondering if there is a comprehensive list of basics built somewhere that I could familiarize myself with to get the best results.

Does aerial video have a set of best practices, others interested in the same thing please chime in. This may be a good thread to consolidate a lot of standard techniques for rookies.

With what setup?

Let's assume a Phantom/Phantom 2 and GoPro Hero 3+ (and Zenmuse H3-3D gimbal). My suggestions would be:
  • Get a neutral density filter for the GoPro (one with a small ring, and small lens filter surface area)
  • Use only slow forward or sideways motions so you don't capture the props in frame
  • Look into a lens shield that goes above the lens to prevent prop shadow (or watch your angles in respect to the sun)
  • Plan out your course ahead of time (not just the standard checking obstacles, but plan out what you want to shoot) so that you have to do less cuts in the video).
  • Consider a second flight for photos only, and set the GoPro timer to whatever (we usually use once every 2 seconds) - with an FPV, it is easy to see what and when it is photographing (or more accurately, at least on our setup, we see nothing as it snaps the pic, then the video feed resumes).