Question to the group

Reaction score
Background: I am a construction superintendent starting a new project. I want to document the progress. I am trying to negotiate a deal so I can survey the project.

The Project is a 500,000 square foot distribution center. A ton of site work. I am doing this for me, I will use the maps i make in meetings. so I don’t need a 107 license. I am studying for it.

I have never flown a drone. I will pick up a small one to practice before a crash and burn a wad of $$ Any tips. I plan on flying pre programmed patterns.

I have been researching this purchase for ~4 months and i am ready to spend the cash. The project is about not start.

I am thinking the Pro but then i read there are issues w/ using 3rd party software and the monitor. Still trying to figure this out. I have an iPad Pro i was thinking this was to big.

Experienced people what would you buy and why. Especially accessories how many batteries carrying cases any insight would be greatly appreciated. I am thinking buy a bare model and purchasing the accessories separately. Or is there a really good kit out there?

Thank you in advance,
Rick

Hey Rick, welcome to the adventure!

I have a P3 Standard.

It is more than capable of surveying a 500K sq’ area.
It has 2.7K video, which is clearer than what a 1080p TV can produce.
I bought a tablet mount and an iPad Mini2 as a dedicated device and more than happy with the performance of both.
I have four batteries total for over an hour and a half of flight time, and a four hub aftermarket battery charger. All have performed flawlessly.
I have a hard case that I can fit all those accessories in, while still leaving the propellers ON for transport and I wouldn’t change that either.
I wanted entry level for the $ involved but the entire setup has not disappointed and I feel no urgent desire to upgrade.

Hope that helps... you’ll get a hundred more opinions, mine is just one, and feel free to ask if there is anything I can expand on!