Phantom 4P Propeller Icing In Cold Foggy Weather

Reaction score
I was out in the country flying this morning. It was +2° F and there was ground fog. This particular flight only reached an altitude of about 75 feet and lasted 3 or 4 minutes. When the drone landed, I noticed that there were ice crystals on the body and props. I didn't sense any change in behavior as I was landing it though because I'm new to all of this, I'm not sure what a difference in handling would look and feel like. Here's the video clip I filmed as I was taking off (speed doubled). For the rest of the morning, every time I flew, I needed to de-ice. Has anyone else seen this?

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

And a couple photos of the ice crystals

DJI Icing-1.jpg
DJI Icing-2.jpg

You were very lucky. Any more Ice and you may have lost your quad.

What was relative humidity? High humidity and below freezing are a bad combo.

BTW you can take those warning stickers off :)

I'm not sure what the humidity was. Cold air doesn't generally hold much humidity. But there was fog . . . As for the stickers, thanks. I do have the black and silver thing figured out now. [emoji846]

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots

You were very lucky. Any more Ice and you may have lost your quad.

I had one minor crash incident today. As the drone went to lift off, it just tipped over. It turns out that one landing gear froze to the ground from the time I took it out of the truck after de-icing to the time I tied to launch.

Cold air doesn't generally hold much humidity.[emoji846]

From this site:
Unit 4: Temperature-Moisture Relationship — Free Online Course Materials — USU OpenCourseWare

A cool, dry air mass may actually have a higher relative humidity than a warm, moist air mass.

Rule of Thumb : Relative humidity doubles with each 20 degree (Fahrenheit) decrease, or halves with each 20 degree increase in temperature.