Phantom 4 Pro h.265 + Sony Vegas Pro 14?

Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
1,424
Reaction score
296
How are h.265 files in Sony's Vegas Pro 14? Does Sony have a lens profile for the p4p in case I need it?
 
Joined
Sep 30, 2015
Messages
122
Reaction score
22
Location
Australia
I don't think Vegas Pro14 supports h.265 import. It will export it only!!

Quote:

Import

4K XAVC S, 4K XAVC, XDCAM EX, XDCAM Optical, DV, HDV, AVCHD, NXCAM, MOV, MP4, WMV, MPEG-1/2/4, H.264/AVC, WAV, FLAC, AAC, MP3, OGG, WMA, Surround Sound/5.1, BMP, PNG, JPEG, TIFF, OpenEXR-, DPX- and WDP image sequences
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
1,424
Reaction score
296
I don't think Vegas Pro14 supports h.265 import. It will export it only!!

Quote:

Import

4K XAVC S, 4K XAVC, XDCAM EX, XDCAM Optical, DV, HDV, AVCHD, NXCAM, MOV, MP4, WMV, MPEG-1/2/4, H.264/AVC, WAV, FLAC, AAC, MP3, OGG, WMA, Surround Sound/5.1, BMP, PNG, JPEG, TIFF, OpenEXR-, DPX- and WDP image sequences
thanks, so how do I process the p4p's h.265 files if I plan to use vegas pro?
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
4
Age
68
I don't think Vegas Pro14 supports h.265 import. It will export it only!!

Quote:

Import

4K XAVC S, 4K XAVC, XDCAM EX, XDCAM Optical, DV, HDV, AVCHD, NXCAM, MOV, MP4, WMV, MPEG-1/2/4, H.264/AVC, WAV, FLAC, AAC, MP3, OGG, WMA, Surround Sound/5.1, BMP, PNG, JPEG, TIFF, OpenEXR-, DPX- and WDP image sequences
Not true. I have Vegas Pro 14 and it supports the h.265 video from the P4P directly without any transcoding. However, you must use the MOV container and NOT the MP4 container. The use of MOV and not MP4 surprised me since I expected on Windows that MP4 would be preferable.

You can also get Vegas 14 to create proxies for you since decoding h.265 on the fly is difficult.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tml4191
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
4
Age
68
Does Sony have a lens profile for the p4p in case I need it?
Vegas Pro does not support lens profiles. But the P4P does not need much correction. You can manually make some adjustments but I don't find it necessary.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tml4191
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
1,424
Reaction score
296
Vegas Pro does not support lens profiles. But the P4P does not need much correction. You can manually make some adjustments but I don't find it necessary.
That's some great news. Mov it is. Thank you
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2016
Messages
77
Reaction score
35
Age
68
You can use the FX Lens Correction and save the setting if you are trying to get the best rectilinear settings for your lens and just apply that for a track correction for you files. And yes the proxies do help a lot when working with 4K. I would transcode all to ProRes in 14, very easy to work with.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tml4191
Joined
Aug 15, 2016
Messages
1,424
Reaction score
296
You can use the FX Lens Correction and save the setting if you are trying to get the best rectilinear settings for your lens and just apply that for a track correction for you files. And yes the proxies do help a lot when working with 4K. I would transcode all to ProRes in 14, very easy to work with.
thanks
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,158
Messages
1,408,214
Members
99,066
Latest member
mariosavi