Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 SE Controller Disconnects when Phone is connected to WiFi.

Discussion in 'Phantom SE' started by phantom3se, Sep 14, 2018.

  1. phantom3se

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi, Im trying to find a solution to the Problem im having right now, I have a Phantom 3 SE, Andriod 8.0 Samsung Galaxy S9+, DJI GO App up to date, Can't Enable Hardware Decoding, Whenever i turn my drone and controller. Connect phone to wifi and go on dji go app not do anything and waiting, In a minute or two it starts disconnecting controller from the drone and it reconnects, disconnects, reconnect, repeat. There was no solution or anything similar online, Don't know if its software or a hardware issue. If anyone has a solution to this problem that will amazing!.

    EDIT: It doesn't disconnect and reconnect when phone is NOT on dji go app and NOT connected to wifi, Weird.

    EDIT #2: If I fly it, it doesn't do it, if I leave it idle it will do it. Thanks for reading and understanding!
     
    #1 phantom3se, Sep 14, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
    ianzone likes this.
  2. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    See if airplane mode changes any result,
     
  3. phantom3se

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    How am I supposed to see the video feed?
     
  4. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    With the wifi, it is a wifi drone,,you might have to turn wifi back on when airplane mode goes on but it will conect,,airplane mode just help stop anything interfering
     
    #4 ianzone, Sep 15, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2018
  5. phantom3se

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Didnt work EDIT: I'm in a hurricane and internet not working right now so nothing's interfering
     
    #5 phantom3se, Sep 15, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2018
    ianzone likes this.
  6. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    Not conect,,my ps3 works like this that why I suggest it,I disapeared and get mine fired up and post pic of conected with airplane mode on,p3se sposed to have better wifi module so bit strange it not work,
     
  7. phantom3se

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is it possible that the controllers Wi-Fi interferes to the drone? EDIT: It connects but in a minute or two it starts going in a loop of disconnecting and reconnecting
     
  8. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    Here's mine ,conect sweet with airplane mode on,,,,,rc and AC make there own wifi,your device is just to receive,,,not saying your device no good but do you have another to eliminate the device causing this Screenshot_20180916-092533.jpg
     
  9. phantom3se

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    I did put mine to airplane mode it's the same result and I tried with the note 8, didnt work and same result
     
  10. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    Might pay to send dji a email ,could be a issue with drone,,I go shop to top up me device and be back,no data left to search on this,
     
  11. phantom3se

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Got one question, Does indoors have inference when there's no wifi, no planes, and no towers nearby that use radio waves? Because I'm testing it indoors and it's raining outside
     
  12. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    Should make no difference,I just turned mine all on inside,I'm just going to have a good search see what I can find
     
  13. phantom3se

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Okay, thank you.
     
    ianzone likes this.
  14. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    Is phone new Galaxy s9+ ,sounds flash enough,is it 5G capable ,,I just ask cause you can change your wifi on the se from 2.4 to 5.8 ,,,,this will not be possible if using older device,must be in your device setting somewhere,,mayby the 5.8 will work better 20180916_102256.jpg
     
  15. phantom3se

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    In dji go app it was set to 5G on wifi settings and doesn't matter what channel it was on, still same effect
     
  16. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    OK I know it already linked but see if re linking will help (in app under rc linking),just to make sure they paired properly,,,very hard to find info for the se,,I go have another look
     
  17. phantom3se

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    4
    Okay I'll try EDIT: I tried linking RC and it still does it
     
    #17 phantom3se, Sep 15, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2018
  18. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,396
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    Far out I searched all over,at least I learnt something ,,heaps of posts went through all specs I could find (only helpful bit was the galaxy s9+)not recommended device yet but neither is mine and works great ,I'm sure your device more than capable, as last resort some have tried to reinstall app,some work some don't, this has got under my skin so I be digging deeper
     
  19. chatikib

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Europe
    It's a Android problem. I have the same problem when I try to connect with an Android 7 device. But not only with the drone but also with an action camera. The problem is that Android 7 and Android 8 try to make contact with Google.com. That isn't possible (because there is no internet connnection). So, if it fails then the connection will be disconnected.

    You may try to type on your device keybord: *#*#4636#*#* and set your connection to Global. In some cases it helps.
     
  20. Flick6211

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thanks. It helps me but when I am at home and have a poorer quality of the Home Wifi Network, my device switches directly to cellular.
     
Loading...