Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 - 4K - MicroUSB Port on controller

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Andreas_, Sep 11, 2016.

  1. Andreas_

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    Hello Everyone

    fyi.. this is my first drone, and a newb at this.

    I am looking for clarification on the purpose of the MicroUSB port on the back of my controller. I see in videos you are to plug it into your phone/tablet. I can not because the cable shipped with is incorrect.

    I have searched the forums/goole for answer and can not find anything solid. I am seeing multiple answers.
    - it's for calibration
    - videolink to drone
    - the port is not supported and can not be used on the P3 4k model (then why is it there)

    I am hoping someone who has a 4k version knows exactly what the port is for and if it's needed or can be used.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,232
    Likes Received:
    7,654
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    The micro USB port has no documented use.
     
    Andreas_ likes this.
  3. Andreas_

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    Thank you for the quick reply msinger. btw, excellent site you have. I was on it earlier today. Lots of stuff on there. At the moment its all information overload for me. :)
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,232
    Likes Received:
    7,654
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Yep -- there's a lot to take in with this hobby. I'm still learning new things all of the time myself :)
     
  5. Brian M B Pedersen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    So a cable like the one in the image attached, would not help?
    Wifi is the only Way to connect P3 standard controller to your mobile device?
    In this case a iPad mini 2
     

    Attached Files:

  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,232
    Likes Received:
    7,654
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    That's correct. There is no way to connect with a cable.
     
  7. Brian M B Pedersen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks :)
     
  8. microraptor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    137
    Use the cable to charge your remote, I plug it in to my laptop and charge it that way.
     
  9. Ajriek

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    Mine is chairing off my laptop now. Works like a champ.
     
  10. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for the info. I was wondering if it might not be For a firmware update.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Phantom MicroUSB Port Forum Date
Security Analysis of DJI Phantom 3 Standard Standard/4k Discussion Today at 5:20 PM
Signal Interference Between iPhone and Phantom Controls General Discussion Today at 4:45 PM
Rebuilding/Upgrading a Phantom 3 Standard. Standard/4k Discussion Today at 4:28 PM
Phantom 4 vs Phantom 4 Advanced Signal Quality Phantom 4 Discussion Today at 3:13 PM
Any phantom pilots in the Oshkosh, WI area? Pro/Adv Discussion Today at 2:45 PM