P4P Loss of power and crash two seconds after takeoff

Reaction score
Had my first issue with my new P4P yesterday after close to 40 flights I've taken with the new bird.

I was on my fifth flight of the morning and the second from this specific location. A second or two after I took off and about six or seven feet above the ground, the copter appeared to lose all power and came crashing down to the ground. I had just swapped to a new 100 percent charged battery prior to the flight. I've owned P1s and P2s prior to this, so I'm new to the flight logs and what can be extracted from them. I signed up at Healthy Drones and looked at the info, but the only odd thing I see is a "Mode changed to 41" and "Mode changed to Assisted Takeoff" as the first two entries. Since I've been flying quadcopters for years, I've never used the assisted takeoff, including this flight. Here's the link to the flight log.

HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

There was minor damage to the landing gear including a few cracks that will force me to replace them. I took the P4P to another location, re-calibrated it, used another 100 percent charged battery and did a few test flights about 12 inches off the ground for each flight and it appears to fly fine. I'm a bit concerned about flying again at any altitude/distance until I figure out if this is a issue to this specific battery or something inside the copter.

If anyone can tell more about what occurred from the logs, I would appreciate it.

While you are waiting for a response here, did you report this in DJI's forum?

PHANTOM

Hopefully this isn't a widespread problem. 40 flights is impressive for how long this phantom has been released.

There is not much info in hd logs. Why does it show home point set at step 4? Did you fly it before home point was recorded?

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Please upload your TXT flight log here and post a link back here.