Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

p3s wont connect to app.

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by luoman09, Aug 4, 2016.

  1. luoman09

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crashed my phantom 3 standard and broke the yaw arm on the gimbal. I repaired it and put it back together. I went to test drone and everything works as usual. RC connects to p3 and flies perfectly fine. wifi connects to my device but the app does not produce a camera image or show connection in anything other than gps display. I've checked connections on wires and have tried to re download app. people have told me to do the firmware update but the app does not give the option to do the update. I would appreciate any help I can get!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3,865
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Hello, and welcome to the forum!

    Your not getting signal from the Phantom back to the remote, I understand that on a Std there is 2 channels of WiFi that is sent from the Phantom back to the remote, you are not receiving ether. One is the image, the other is telemetry. Your mobile device gets the WiFi from the remote.
    Other than that, I need to do some thinking, somebody else should throw you some stuff soon.:rolleyes:

    Rod
     
  3. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    277
    In what order are you firing up the bird?
     
  4. luoman09

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    drone remote then app. thanks for the reply squirrel
     
  5. luoman09

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the reply rod. the wifi is the only thing i can think of but not sure how to go about knowing or sure
     
  6. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    277
    Try it this way:

    Remote, then app...after they have connected, then fire up the bird. After that, the red light on the remote turns to green. Give it a few moments and the pic/video should appear. If not, you didn't put something together quite right during or after the repair.

    Good luck. Let us know if you get it or not.
     
  7. luoman09

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really appreciate your help Squirrell.
    Just tried that. no luck. The remote however is not turning green. Got yellow flashing on the drone. If the camera is not connected properly I should at least get the Remote signal as well as the gps satellite signal on the app correct?
     
  8. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    277
    I would imagine, yes. You should be able to remove the camera entirely and still be able to fly, albeit blind. My guess is either you forgot to reconnect something, you reconnected something wrong or, the most likely scenario, there was internal damage when you crashed. I'm 'guessing' the latter.
     
  9. QuillyT

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did the same thing and am experiencing similar issues.
    I am ready to take it apart and see if the issue is internal.

    Before I do that though...

    When I crashed, the wifi cable (the flat one with a bunch of wires) came loose and the grey wire came out of it's crimped connector.
    What are the grey and black wires for?

    If I didn't recrimp the single grey wire well enough, would it prevent the camera feed from coming back to my phone?
     
  10. Philltayl

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    254
    Location:
    Bedfordshire UK

    yes, the grey and black wires are antenna connections. it is almost impossible to recrimp the connector correctly. you can get a new one quite cheap
     
  11. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    277
    Link to the new antenna wire? I need to replace mine and while I can easily find the gray ribbon easily enough, the black and grey antenna wires have proven more difficult. So if you can provide a link, I'd appreciate it. We had a recent snow and I would like to get my bird back in the air for some winter footage. Thanks for any help you may provide.
     
  12. QuillyT

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,215
    Likes Received:
    7,650
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Squirrel! likes this.
  14. QuillyT

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Let me try to be a little more exact with my issues because I don't fully understand the system between the RC, mobile app, and the p3s.

    [OK] RC to mobile app - seems to be fine. I can calibrate the joysticks and see readings on the app that match what I'm doing to the RC.
    [OK] RC to p3s - seems to be okay. I can rotate the camera level. All lights are green. Even the tiny one on the gimbal.
    [BAD] Mobile app to p3s - can't get video to show on mobile app. Connectivity is low or poor. I see "Take off failure" as an error message on the app when I press the "Take off" icon.

    I see two sets of antennas:
    (1) The black and grey single wires are separate antenna connecting gimbal to shell.
    (2) The black and grey single wires on the shell that go down the landing gear.

    I was referencing (1) in this case.
    So I have a couple questions:
    • Are the single grey wires in (1) and (2) different lines or are they connected somewhere/extensions of each other?
    • What type of information passes through the grey wire in (1)?
    • Just to confirm, would a faulty grey single wire in (1) cause the p3s video to not display anything on the mobile app but still allow other functions to perform?




    Also I wanted to thank everyone for their help thus far. I am here to fix my friend's p3s that I crashed into a tree within minutes of him handing me the controller. This is super neat and I might be getting into this hobby myself now...
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  15. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    277
    Amazon not available, but the 'bay has it. Thanks!

    I was apparently searching for the wrong thing. I wasn't aware I had to replace the whole antenna, I thought the wires were just jumpers from the actual antenna to the gimbal body. Happy New Year, Mike!
     
  16. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,215
    Likes Received:
    7,650
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    They are different antennas. (1) is the Wi-Fi antenna (for the downlink) and (2) is the antenna for the remote controller.

    Video and telemetry

    Yes.
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  17. QuillyT

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    fantastic! thanks!
     
  18. QuillyT

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Guys, you were right! Did the repair yesterday and every looks good now! Thanks for all your help!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - p3s wont connect Forum Date
New P3S wont connect Standard/4k Discussion Dec 22, 2015
Standard P3S Wont Record iPad Video Phantom 3 Help Apr 3, 2017
Standard SOLVED: New P3S Controller wont Link Phantom 3 Help Mar 2, 2017
Standard IMU Calibration wont start P3S Phantom 3 Help Oct 8, 2016
P3S 1080p video file plays back on iPad but wont play on my PC /VLC/Mediaplayer or video editors? Standard/4k Discussion Mar 22, 2016