Professional P3Pro - Firmware Update Mistake

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
979
Reaction score
676
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Ok, I think I'm following. I'm going to get a little specific here because this might clear it up for me.

A local pilot has a crashed P3Pro that was running v1.3.2 and the gimbal/camera assembly is functioning normally, so I'm asking about buying that whole assembly. Basically disconnect the two harnesses on top, pop it off, and then move it over to my AC. So then I'm assuming I would need to run the v1.4.10 firmware update again so the gimbal/camera FW matches the FW version currently on the rest of my AC (even though it's still an incomplete installation). And then pray that the installation completes this time. Sound about right?

And then if he decides he doesn't want to sell (seems he's leaning toward just keeping parts for his other P3Pros, which I understand), say I get a gimbal/camera assembly with a later FW version (v1.8.8 for example). I'd just need to install that particular FW version on my AC so that the rest of my AC then matches what is on the gimbal/camera?

Thanks again for all of the help!
The app will show you if you need to update the firmware. If it says that firmware update is needed, you don’t necessarily have to update it. The camera will still function as designed. It will just give you that message every time you power it up.
My P3P has firmware version 1.11.20 on it. Every gimbal board that I have re-flashed reverts back to old firmware. I install the camera/gimbal assembly and automatically update it to the 1.11.20 version. But before I update it, I check the function of everything on the camera. It works as intended, image transmission included. I just update to the latest firmware version because most people that need a replacement board, need it because their original was messed up doing the firmware update.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
24
Reaction score
3
Location
Atlanta
Ok, first things first. HUGE thank you to @KachemakDiver for answering even more questions via PM and for the major assist in getting the gimbal reflashed!! And I can't thank everyone else enough for taking the time to provide their helpful input in this thread too!

So here's where I'm at now: gimbal was reflashed & v1.4.10 successfully installed tonight on the first attempt, I was very excited to finally see this message:

========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
Packet: P3X_FW_V01.04.0010.bin
Upgrading ...
Result: Success.

Here's the LOG_AB just because.

[00012787]========== remo-con disconnect. boot(15) ============
[00012845]Packet [C:\P3X_FW_V01.04.0010.bin] detected, card sn [0x00711d56].
[00012904]Packet upgrade start...

[00012966]Packet checking...
[00013024]Packet vlink 01.04.0010 <-> 01.03.0020.
[00013116]Done.

[00013171]Version checking[1]...
[00013270][03 05][00] v34.2.0.9 -> v34.2.0.9
[00013389][03 06][00] v2.4.20.50 -> v2.3.0.13
[00013455][04 00][00] v1.48.0.0 -> v1.41.0.0
[00013527][09 00][00] v1.7.0.3 -> v1.7.0.3
[00013669][11 00][00] v1.8.0.0 -> v1.7.0.0
[00013798][12 00][00] v1.12.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
[00013896][12 01][00] v1.12.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
[00014027][12 02][00] v1.12.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
[00014136][12 03][00] v1.12.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
[00014281][15 00][00] v1.1.2.0 -> v1.1.2.0
[00014396][17 00][00] v1.1.1.7 -> v1.1.1.7
[00014531][17 01][00] v1.0.2.7 -> v1.0.2.7
[00014606][19 00][00] v1.0.8.96 -> v1.0.8.96
[00014755][01 00][00] v1.32.5432 -> v1.23.3419
[00014814][01 01][00] v1.32.5432 -> v1.23.3419
[00014886][08 00][00] v0.11.0.4 -> v0.12.0.4 need upgrade.
[00014943]Done.

[00017000]Waiting for user confirm...
[00027063]Timeout, start upgrade automatically.

[00027173]Firmware upgrading[1]...
[00028086][08 00] Firmware upgrade start...
[00516523][08 00] Firmware upgrade finished successfully.
[00516584]Done.

[00516639]Version checking[2]...
[00516742][03 05][00] v34.2.0.9 -> v34.2.0.9
[00516837][03 06][00] v2.4.20.50 -> v2.3.0.13
[00516909][04 00][00] v1.48.0.0 -> v1.41.0.0
[00516996][09 00][00] v1.7.0.3 -> v1.7.0.3
[00517137][11 00][00] v1.8.0.0 -> v1.7.0.0
[00517248][12 00][00] v1.12.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
[00517350][12 01][00] v1.12.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
[00517475][12 02][00] v1.12.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
[00517585][12 03][00] v1.12.0.0 -> v1.10.0.0
[00517733][15 00][00] v1.1.2.0 -> v1.1.2.0
[00517850][17 00][00] v1.1.1.7 -> v1.1.1.7
[00518005][17 01][00] v1.0.2.7 -> v1.0.2.7
[00518095][19 00][00] v1.0.8.96 -> v1.0.8.96
[00518158][01 00][00] v1.32.5432 -> v1.23.3419
[00518221][01 01][00] v1.32.5432 -> v1.23.3419
[00518290][08 00][05] v0.12.0.4 -> v0.12.0.4
[00518350]Packet upgrade finish successfully.

I have good AC/RC connection and the live view is functional in the DJI Go app on my Galaxy tablet.

At this point I need to repeat the process again because I have two more batteries for the AC, then I need to calibrate the IMU, compass, and RC. But it did not have any trouble reaching flight readiness while I was reviewing things in the app.

HOWEVER (there's always a but), even after all of this, within the DJI Go app the AC version is still showing 1.4.10+. I'm slightly hesitant to even consider updating the firmware any further after all of this, so should I just leave it be with the "+"?

*edit* Just thought to check, in the Overall Status screen it shows RC Update Required (to be expected), AC Update Required (also expected), but it also shows Camera Update Required. Could that last one be the cause of the "+"? If so, what needs to be done to fix that?

 
Last edited:

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
979
Reaction score
676
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Ok, first things first. HUGE thank you to @KachemakDiver for answering even more questions via PM and for the major assist in getting the gimbal reflashed!! And I can't thank everyone else enough for taking the time to provide their helpful input in this thread too!

So here's where I'm at now: gimbal was reflashed & v1.4.10 successfully installed tonight on the first attempt, I was very excited to finally see this message:



Here's the LOG_AB just because.



I have good AC/RC connection and the live view is functional in the DJI Go app on my Galaxy tablet.

At this point I need to repeat the process again because I have two more batteries for the AC, then I need to calibrate the IMU, compass, and RC. But it did not have any trouble reaching flight readiness while I was reviewing things in the app.

HOWEVER (there's always a but), even after all of this, within the DJI Go app the AC version is still showing 1.4.10+. I'm slightly hesitant to even consider updating the firmware any further after all of this, so should I just leave it be with the "+"?

*edit* Just thought to check, in the Overall Status screen it shows RC Update Required (to be expected), AC Update Required (also expected), but it also shows Camera Update Required. Could that last one be the cause of the "+"? If so, what needs to be done to fix that?

It’ll say that because they don’t have the latest firmware version,1.11.20. My opinion,,,if it fly’s don’t worry about it.
My P3P shows 1.11.20+, has been this way since it was updated- 1 1/2 years ago.😎
 
  • Like
Reactions: RotorNutFD3S

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
979
Reaction score
676
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Ok, first things first. HUGE thank you to @KachemakDiver for answering even more questions via PM and for the major assist in getting the gimbal reflashed!! And I can't thank everyone else enough for taking the time to provide their helpful input in this thread too!

So here's where I'm at now: gimbal was reflashed & v1.4.10 successfully installed tonight on the first attempt, I was very excited to finally see this message:



Here's the LOG_AB just because.



I have good AC/RC connection and the live view is functional in the DJI Go app on my Galaxy tablet.

At this point I need to repeat the process again because I have two more batteries for the AC, then I need to calibrate the IMU, compass, and RC. But it did not have any trouble reaching flight readiness while I was reviewing things in the app.

HOWEVER (there's always a but), even after all of this, within the DJI Go app the AC version is still showing 1.4.10+. I'm slightly hesitant to even consider updating the firmware any further after all of this, so should I just leave it be with the "+"?

*edit* Just thought to check, in the Overall Status screen it shows RC Update Required (to be expected), AC Update Required (also expected), but it also shows Camera Update Required. Could that last one be the cause of the "+"? If so, what needs to be done to fix that?

Read this information about the P3P updates. Might help you decide what to do.
 

Attachments

  • Phantom+3+Professional+Release+Notes.pdf
    267.8 KB · Views: 20
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
24
Reaction score
3
Location
Atlanta
It’ll say that because they don’t have the latest firmware version,1.11.20. My opinion,,,if it fly’s don’t worry about it.
My P3P shows 1.11.20+, has been this way since it was updated- 1 1/2 years ago.😎
Ah ok. Well that's reassuring! It had been posted here and elsewhere that the "+" was due to an incomplete firmware update.
 

REL

Joined
May 11, 2018
Messages
100
Reaction score
67
Age
75
Location
Western NC
Very glad to hear you have recovered from the update problem, Eric. Thanks again to KachemakDiver for all his help and expertise. It was me who warned about the (+) showing up and that it had to do with a problem with the update itself. I assumed it would be best not to fly until it was resolved. In trying to locate the info about that to share more details this AM .... I found this: A quick question about the plus sign ! (SOLVED) So at least we have both a DJI moderator and KachemakDiver saying go ahead (and coupled with the trouble you have experienced already with upgrading) .... I wouldn't try to do anything more ..... as long as your test flight goes well today. Best of luck with that !
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
24
Reaction score
3
Location
Atlanta
Test flight was a success and happened to be just in time to catch the sunset. Thanks again everyone for your help! Really happy this was a fixable problem. :)

 
  • Like
Reactions: REL

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,006
Messages
1,444,022
Members
101,760
Latest member
Dronejohn