P3 Bought today, return tomorow

Joined
Mar 31, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
66
With much anticipation I bought my 1st Phantom 3 Advanced today, Followed all instructions and A. The motors do not turn on, On the Pilot Ap I get a DISCONECTED notice at the top of the display And a black screen (the sat map does show up in the corner though). Did the firmware upgrade on both the Phantom and the Remote. But alas no improvement. I Own 2 Phantom 2vplus so I know how to turn start the motors.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
548
Reaction score
249
what app android or IOS? if adroid you need to enable developer mode.

why give up so easy this isn't a p2+ big difference between the two
 
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
3,530
Reaction score
625
Location
Sydney Australia
What device you using? Not all devices are compatible.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2015
Messages
75
Reaction score
15
Sounds like you don't have the cable from your remote plugged into your cell phone/tablet. Either way if you don't want it I'll gladly take it.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
66
Adroid Pilot ap, even tried deleting ap and downloading again, I would know how to enable developer mode. Pilot ap read that firmware upgrade was needed if I got a No Conection bar at the top. So I did the up grade. same problem and the motors will not start. I really wanted this, I have two Phantom 2vPlus and I knew this was more involved, however I and my son the tech geek spent 6 hours trying to find the cure. I mean I know to start the darn motors that pretty basic.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
481
Reaction score
142
Age
24
Location
Grand Rapids, Michigan
If you're getting "No connection" at the top try these steps, they worked for me

Restart your phone. Turn on controller. Plug in usb. Then open app. Then power up the bird. Hope it helps.

Courtesy of fellow forum member Coldfire
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
66
Sounds like you don't have the cable from your remote plugged into your cell phone/tablet. Either way if you don't want it I'll gladly take it.
The cable was in fact plugged in and the pilot ap launched on my tablet as soon as I powered the remote.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
548
Reaction score
249
Im confused. You Said you would know how to enable developer mode or not ?


Sounds to me that's your issue.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
481
Reaction score
142
Age
24
Location
Grand Rapids, Michigan
The cable was in fact plugged in and the pilot ap launched on my tablet as soon as I powered the remote.

Read my post and try it.

Can you control the gimbal with your controller? Also generally while phantoms are in update mode/plugged in (including the P2) they can't have the motors powered on, as a safety precaution.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Age
66
Read my post and try it.

Can you control the gimbal with your controller? Also generally while phantoms are in update mode/plugged in (including the P2) they can't have the motors powered on, as a safety precaution.
Yes I can control the gimbal, and no I did not try to power the motors while update. I went through the set up set by step following the video tutorials and the manual. And did the update to the letter.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
481
Reaction score
142
Age
24
Location
Grand Rapids, Michigan
No I do not know how to get to the the developer mode, or even what to do once I found it.

If you tell us what android device you're using we can point you towards a tutorial to help you. It might be that you don't have USB debugging enabled.

It also might be that you are turning the pilot app on too early. Evidently you need to have the controller and the phantom on before turning on the Pilot app.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2014
Messages
548
Reaction score
249
Simply Google devoloper mode for android and enable USB debugging. That's your problem.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
644
Reaction score
251
Go to settings / about device then click on build number repeatedly till you see a message that saws developer mode enabled....then go back to main setting page and select developer options and place a check mark in the usb debugging tab
Screenshot_2015-05-21-22-42-45.png
Screenshot_2015-05-21-22-42-52.png
Screenshot_2015-05-21-22-42-59.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: Julius717
Joined
Apr 11, 2015
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
40
With much anticipation I bought my 1st Phantom 3 Advanced today, Followed all instructions and A. The motors do not turn on, On the Pilot Ap I get a DISCONECTED notice at the top of the display And a black screen (the sat map does show up in the corner though). Did the firmware upgrade on both the Phantom and the Remote. But alas no improvement. I Own 2 Phantom 2vplus so I know how to turn start the motors.
Did you download the app from the dji website or the play store? I used the one on the play store and it did not work well at all. You have to get the latest app directly from the dji phantom downloads area.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
3,858
Reaction score
1,149
Location
Long Island, NY
Once you've figured out how to enable USB debugging, the next thing to try is to rebind your controller w/ the bird.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
24
Reaction score
4
I agree with USB debugging. Also, I believe that you need to register your Phantom through the app before you can start your motors.
 
  • Like
Reactions: damitjim

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,765
Messages
1,441,691
Members
101,500
Latest member
Fishconsin