Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

no image transmission signal warning

Discussion in 'Phantom 4K' started by Marzz1, Sep 13, 2018.

  1. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7
    My phantom 4k fell into water few days back it, after drying out right out given everything a good clean and put back together it seams to work fine with everything but the camera has no image on my phone and the warning “no image transmission signal”

    The camera does that full range of moton thingy it does when turning on works in manual for a few seconds after. It then stops!

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GrammatonxXXxCleric

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3,440
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    Location:
    Northwest USA
    info4tim likes this.
  3. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7

    jesus I paid less for my entire drone if I need a new camera I’ll just buy another second hand drone. Here in Australia their going for 350-500 aud. That camera was 450$
     
    ianzone likes this.
  4. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    Mayby try a new flat ribbon cable set,,I could have helped you but I just mailed my cam overseas,cable sets are cheap which is good.....,,,$$20.. Screenshot_20180914-092726.jpg
     
    #4 ianzone, Sep 13, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2018
    MotorCycle-Man likes this.
  5. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7

    Yeah thats a possible option, do you know if that ribbon is for the motor and image or just one? Because the camera motor work until it fault out.
     
  6. thephantomaddict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Clark, Missouri
    It connects both the camera image and motor
     
    ianzone likes this.
  7. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7
    From some tes
    Ok thank you! I’ll order one!
     
    ianzone likes this.
  8. thephantomaddict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Clark, Missouri
    Be very careful in installing the cable its extremely fragile. Good luck!!! :)
     
    MotorCycle-Man likes this.
  9. MotorCycle-Man

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    Kansas
    I have installed one and its a very tricky job....when you pull the backing off the sticky tape..the ribbon wire will want to stick to ever thing and IF it sticks down to where its NOT supposed to be Its very easy to damage the fine copper ribbon in the harness......Be Very careful and have REALLY Good lightning..and " take your time" get UP and walk away from it if your having trouble.....Hey order two...Just in case You damage one....they are very very fragile...and the loop around the last spindle before it gets plugged In...is a Real Bugger to get done ! Plus >>> No Greasy fingers<<< for the job......."GOOD LUCK" !
     
    ianzone likes this.
  10. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah cheers guy, im a tool maker by trade so finicky things come natural, tho usually it on a tonne off steel! I did completely dismantle and put back the camera together I have here minus the solderd on tiny fan. Did the same thing.

    Tho my main too board the one with sd card slot I think is shot. With the bit of research iv done it should have a led light up red or green but mins not on at all.

    Thinking I’ll just look for another drone and leave this for spares. Iv run it now 3 batteries worth and it’s flying fine did 100m high 500m away, all the auto functions are working. But im finding I don’t trust it.
     
    MotorCycle-Man and ianzone like this.
  11. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7
    Are the 2.7 camera from a standard or advanced compatible with a 4k?
     
  12. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    They for use same camera but have a feeling the ribbon cable might be different just to be annoying,,p34k is just a p3s with vps module on the bottom, you could try this but I would have both ribbon sets on hand in case 20180915_185829.jpg
     
    MotorCycle-Man likes this.
  13. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7

    Ok i was thinking of the entire camera/gimbal set up, their few pros/4k for sale but tones of advanced and some standard ones if I bought one of them second hand and just used its camera in my drone!

    I have a gut feeling my ribbon is in good working condition but the main board is toast!
     
  14. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    Yeh hard to eliminate faults without parts to try,,definitely cheaper to buy whole drone that just the cam ,with you on that,mate I just gave one away,,oh well it happens,at least if you can get another you will have some parts and another battery which aways good to have,well I wish you Best of luck in sorting it out , I'm all over forums searching stuff so if I find a way to test I will post a update,,,,yes no light on Gimble board not good,sounds like you spot on,unless it's a cable which once again need spares to check,
     
    MotorCycle-Man likes this.
  15. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah the cable is only 20$ but it’ll be almost a month before it shows up in the mail.
    Most of my research is from this, I found in the advanced/pro section. 314D5A15-4B14-442F-B3DA-200E17D3EAD7.png F0A5CB57-ABC1-4084-B8A7-5AECC71918E5.png
     
    ianzone likes this.
  16. ianzone

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Location:
    Windy getting warmer
    Yip good info on the ribbon,,I know some cheap ones have cause issues, ,,a month,,yes long time,,that's about my waiting time aswell,I even told ebay that and no longer buy through them cause the waiting is a killer
     
    MotorCycle-Man likes this.
  17. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok so some good news! A work shop I called said to dunk the main board into pure alcohol over night n try and in the morning!

    To my absolute supprize it bloody worked!

    So it turns out alcohol is good for more then just a night out!
     
    ianzone and MotorCycle-Man like this.
  18. Marzz1

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    7
    Another update, camera still works fine, first real test since it got wet. Im getting **** range.

    Iv previously at the same place had it at 170m high 1500m away. With out range issues but today it dropped all control connection at 140m and only 200m distance.

    At 70m high it still did 680m away.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - image transmission signal Forum Date
No image transmission signal problem Phantom SE Jun 17, 2018
No image transmission signal P3S Pro/Adv Discussion Jun 17, 2018
"Image Transmission Signal Weak” error in DJI App No Video Standard May 11, 2018
Standard No image transmission signal Phantom 3 Help Apr 19, 2018
Phantom 4 Pro Plus No Image transmission signal Phantom 4 Pro Help Apr 7, 2018