Newbie Mistakes

Reaction score
So I got my Phantom 4 and I have had it for a week and this day It was night time and I wanted to get a pic of the moon as it was full and it had clouds overlaying. it was an awesome pic. So I hurry home get on my bike grab my drone and head to the park. I get her all setup and in the air. Go up to my local hight limit which was about 200 ft and started to take pics. Last time I forgot to put in my SD card but I have 2 now so I was good.
Flew around a while then packed up for the night. Excited to see my pics I got it all out of the box and pulled the footage. Just to see all of my pics were washed over with a red haze. I couldnt tell what was causing the problem but finally guessed that it was the reflction of the LEDs on the Phantom. I started playing with the camera settings and found an option to turn off LED's during photos etc.
SO long story short turn this option on before taking pics or vids. ( I would have thought that this would be a default option)

Nothing new there. Just takes once to figure it out. And just saying, it is not default for a reason. I think you can figure out why. ;)

Reactions: John1960
Nothing new there. Just takes once to figure it out. And just saying, it is not default for a reason. I think you can figure out why. ;)
Im lost. Why would you not want the front LED's to turn off for a brief second when taking photos? Why would you not want this to be a default? Thats how it works. Only just before you take the snapshot does the LED's turn off then after the shot they come back on as usual.

Im lost. Why would you not want the front LED's to turn off for a brief second when taking photos? Why would you not want this to be a default? Thats how it works. Only just before you take the snapshot does the LED's turn off then after the shot they come back on as usual.

in about 3 years of flying day and a lot of night time as well. It never occurred to me the need to shut off the led even though I know I can.