New to drones

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So as the title says, I’m new to drones.

I’m wanting to get a drone for when I go and travel. I’ve been looking into getting a DJI Phantom 4 Pro. Love the look of it, and the fact it has all the additional sensors. Also you can wear goggles that let you see what the drone sees.

Now being as that will be my first drone and it’s one of the most expensive ones I’ve seen.

Is there any pros and cons anyone knows about it? Hard to fly, bad battery, not for first time drone owners etc. appreciate any feedback.

Is there any pros and cons anyone knows about it? Hard to fly, bad battery, not for first time drone owners etc. appreciate any feedback.
It's a fantastic machine. There's nothing in the sky to match it for the price.
Except the new DJI Mavic 2 pro that only came out a couple of weeks ago.
If travel and portability is important, you might like to check that out as well.

Reactions: Thedronelife
It's a fantastic machine. There's nothing in the sky to match it for the price.
Except the new DJI Mavic 2 pro that only came out a couple of weeks ago.
If travel and portability is important, you might like to check that out as well.

For a newbie though, would it be better to start off with something cheaper/easier? Or is this perfect for anyone to be able to pick up and fly? I heard the more expensive the drone the easier it is to actually fly unlike RC cars and helicopters.

For a newbie though, would it be better to start off with something cheaper/easier? Or is this perfect for anyone to be able to pick up and fly? I heard the more expensive the drone the easier it is to actually fly unlike RC cars and helicopters.
Some people recommend a cheap "trainer drone" but I can't see the point.
The cheap toy drone is going to be much more difficult to fly.
Your time and effort would be better employed learning how the Phantom is programmed and how everything on it works.

Here's my new flyer advice: