New Phantom arrived yesterday....headed back to DJI today..never flown

Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
662
Location
USA
Phantom 1.1.1

DJI WIN Driver Installer - supports Windows XP or above (32bit/64bit). - 2013-01-18

Naza-M Assistant Software v2.20 - (32bit/64bit). - 2013-10-25

Everything was looking good....GPS lock, Green lights.....
But then it refused to connect to the PC for IMU calibration.
Tried everything I could think of.

Strange thing is this.........

The PC definitely senses it is connected because it goes to the dim, solid green light on the cyclops light upfront AND.... in the Control panel under Device Manager, the entry drops out and reappears as I unplug and plug the Phantom back into the PC USB port. So there's definitely a USB connection.

But, the Assistant never shows any data. Just Zeroes.

Oddly, instead of showing up under USB Serial Bus Controllers, instead it shows up under PORTS as a USB Virtual port (wtf?) In the photo I have disabled the port. (See image below)

So I'm faced with the 6 - 8 week back to DJI dance and was wondering before I ship it off if anyone might throw some info my way to help with this issue. After a LOT of reading online, I'm guessing I have a bad NAZA v2 or the connector is not making good contact. I definitely will try a new USB cable before returning it but the fact that the PC and the Phantom are both responding to being plugged into USB (even though the assistant will not connect and the device manager shows it as a virtual port rather than a USB controller), seems to indicate the USB cable is ok.

DJI was nice about it and is providing a return shipping label. It has to go through diagnostics.



If anyone has any suggestions I'm all ears....
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2015
Messages
105
Reaction score
11
Age
48
Location
GARLAND TEXAS BABY ! ! ! 1
only thing i got is enable that thing back and change your baud rate to 115200 and try. i saw some posts about dji uart serial connection is 115200 baud
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2014
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
676
Location
Westford, MA
Oddly, instead of showing up under USB Serial Bus Controllers, instead it shows up under PORTS as a USB Virtual port (wtf?) In the photo I have disabled the port. (See image below)
If anyone has any suggestions I'm all ears....
This is normal. A USB PORT will appear as a COM port in windows. A USB DEVICE shows up under the USB Controllers list.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
662
Location
USA
This is normal. A USB PORT will appear as a COM port in windows. A USB DEVICE shows up under the USB Controllers list.
If you would be so kind as to check your Devices list and confirm that your DJI connection appears under ports rather than devices and let me know I would appreciate it.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2014
Messages
1,993
Reaction score
676
Location
Westford, MA
If you would be so kind as to check your Devices list and confirm that your DJI connection appears under ports rather than devices and let me know I would appreciate it.
My laptop and Phantom are not convenient right now, but I don't need to. The Phantom communicates over a serial port. COM ports are serial ports. (The S in USB is "Serial"). The Phantom is not a device, like your memory stick; the Phantom communicates over the Universal Serial Bus through a COM port.

Re-enable the com port and check the port speed as Saylor suggested. You may have to reboot the PC to get the COM port reconnected.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
662
Location
USA
Ok, well this is actually good news....in a way. It means the Phantom is connecting, just not communicating. It could also mean the NAZA has a problem I suppose. Not exactly sure of the communication path from the cable to the NAZA works. Maybe there's an interface in between it and another circuit board etc? I'll be experimenting with different settings over the next few days. Sending it back will be the last resort after all else fails. I'm told by DJI that I can expect 6 weeks if I send it now.

OH the pain!. ... but wait....I STILL have my trusty Syma X5C-1 to tide me through the storm!
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2015
Messages
105
Reaction score
11
Age
48
Location
GARLAND TEXAS BABY ! ! ! 1
very interested in hearing how this goes. you can change the baud rate and try to connect, change the baud rate, try to connect.. you wont hurt anything with that. all you are doing is telling the connection how fast to talk. the other settings, 8 N 1, is common - don't change those, unless you find documentation saying what those settings should be. 8 bits, no parity bit, 1 stop bit. most stuff uses that convention.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
662
Location
USA
Thanks everyone for your help.

I was able to finally get a connection to the Assistant today..... WOOT!

It still won't connect to MY computer but it does with another so there you go.

Perseverance pays off. Hopefully it will continue connecting and this one time was not a fluke.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,511
Reaction score
662
Location
USA
BTW...if it turns out to have just been a computer issue, I have to apologize to DJI for jumping to the conclusion that it was the Phantom.

IF...it continues to connect.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,420
Messages
1,401,164
Members
98,641
Latest member
cristian rubio