new message

Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
25
Reaction score
2
Age
68
Last night I flew my Phantom 4 + and there was this message on screen that I had to cancel it to be able to fly .IMG_5451.JPGwhat is it?
IMG_5451.JPG
 

Fly Dawg

"Electricity is really just organized lightning"
Premium Pilot
Joined
Apr 29, 2016
Messages
4,364
Reaction score
1,922
Location
Watkinsville, Georgia
what is it?
Double edge sword with those sensors. If the outdoor lighting is too weak they disable themselves. If the light is too strong, they tend to do odd things. ( I.E. Looking in to the sun )
 

Shoot4fun

Drone bum...
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
584
Reaction score
511
Age
49
Location
SC Missouri
Takes some getting used to, especially for me coming from a P3 standard to a P4P. Scared the poo outta me when it did that first time. I thought I'd just screwed the pooch. X out of it and fly the dang thing! Sensors are nice when they work, but I learned on a bird without all that fancy stuff... Fly with caution, but fly! Nothing to be alarmed about.

Brad
 
Joined
May 27, 2019
Messages
25
Reaction score
2
Age
68
Takes some getting used to, especially for me coming from a P3 standard to a P4P. Scared the poo outta me when it did that first time. I thought I'd just screwed the pooch. X out of it and fly the dang thing! Sensors are nice when they work, but I learned on a bird without all that fancy stuff... Fly with caution, but fly! Nothing to be alarmed about.

Brad
Thanks for warning
I was lucky that I didn't hit anyone and anything,
it was too dark and I was sure that sensors will avoid hitting anything
 

Shoot4fun

Drone bum...
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
584
Reaction score
511
Age
49
Location
SC Missouri
Best not to rely on the sensors too much. I hear stories, and they ain't all good! Haven't figured out how to disable them completely, but soon as I do, I'll be happier! They make me a nervous wreck when the rc starts buzzing in my hands!!!

Brad
Thanks for warning
I was lucky that I didn't hit anyone and anything,
it was too dark and I was sure that sensors will avoid hitting anything
 
  • Like
Reactions: MTO

Shoot4fun

Drone bum...
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
584
Reaction score
511
Age
49
Location
SC Missouri
You could try disabling obstacle avoidance in the app settings:

Then click on Advanced Vision Settings there to switch off the downward facing sensors:
Sweet! Thanks! That'll make me feel a lil better. I like to do my own flying!
 
  • Like
Reactions: MTO
Joined
Aug 7, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
8
Age
32
Hi everyone.

I have a few questions for you all if you can help me that would be greatly appreciated.

We were out today flying our phantom 4 pro plus and on the controller it kept saying video cache is full. I don’t understand this as we have a massive memory card it the aircraft. All the videos we took sent all there when trying to view in the controller. How do I fix this? Is this a memory issue?
Also another question how do we transfer photos and video straight from the controller to iPhone. I’ve been trying to do this and can’t is their an easy way?

Thanks :)
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,780
Reaction score
7,802
We were out today flying our phantom 4 pro plus and on the controller it kept saying video cache is full. I don’t understand this as we have a massive memory card it the aircraft. All the videos we took sent all there when trying to view in the controller. How do I fix this? Is this a memory issue?
I have to guess a little because the + controller is different from the original but the cached video will be stored in the memory of the controller - not the SD card in the aircraft.
You should be able to switch off video caching in the app settings if you don't need the cached videos - they are only low-res preview grade anyway), and delete what's there.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
470
Reaction score
306
Age
67
Location
LA (Largo Area) Fl
Hi Sarah,
I think you will get more replies if you start a new thread. Something like, Deleting vid cache + model RC? You can add your other questions there as well. Others will be helped by the replies. It is an interesting question about the + model RC. It is wonderful once you learn a little more about it.
Oops, Meta4 just answered your first question before my post. My video cache is turned off also. I do occasionally turn it back on, if I’m filming something important and can do a quick review of the flight. Then delete it. On the standard RC the cache is stored on your device, iPad, phone, whatever, if turned on. Same as + model internal storage. Have fun, fly safe.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Ruben Fred

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,417
Messages
1,401,143
Members
98,639
Latest member
roishi42