New GL658C controller for my P4.

Reaction score
OK so as some of you know I paired a GL658C controller to my P4. Just got it paired last night by updating the RC firmware ( from 1.5.70 to 1.7.80 I think).. My P4 is running firmware 01.02.0602. I went out this morning for a test flight (first flight with the GL658C. The GL658C actually controls the P4 well and had no issues, only flying local in my pasture.

One issue I did have was poor video transmission, green and black bars and cutouts. And just before at the end of the flight the camera went limp and pointed up.
Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions on this? Thanks.. Phil

Edit I'm using an iPad Pro 9.7 as my display.

Last edited:
OK so I did a gimbal and imu calibration and went back for another test flight and got the same results. Screen flashing green and black with a poor video transmission message.

OK so as some of you know I paired a GL658C controller to my P4. Just got it paired last night by updating the RC firmware ( from 1.5.70 to 1.7.80 I think).. My P4 is running firmware 01.02.0602. I went out this morning for a test flight (first flight with the GL658C. The GL658C actually controls the P4 well and had no issues, only flying local in my pasture.

One issue I did have was poor video transmission, green and black bars and cutouts. And just before at the end of the flight the camera went limp and pointed up.
Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions on this? Thanks.. Phil

Edit I'm using an iPad Pro 9.7 as my display.
seems like this always is a bad ribbon

The problems only happen with this remote, correct? Not with the 300C? If not hardware / antennas, would seem to be incompatible firmware, but usually gives a warning. You might try refreshing the new firmware that you just installed. In case it did not complete. Recalibrate the remote, sticks and gimble wheel, while you’re at it.
Good luck, hope someone has answers