Missing video frames when spanning video files update?

Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
131
Reaction score
35
Age
64
Just wondering if DJI have fixed the problem of losing frames between the 4Gb spanned files . Have not updated any firmware , so checking to see if anyone has checked this issue. I tried searching and found nothing recent
 
  • Like
Reactions: Roy Rogers
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
199
Reaction score
138
Location
S.Wales, UK
Just wondering if DJI have fixed the problem of losing frames between the 4Gb spanned files . Have not updated any firmware , so checking to see if anyone has checked this issue. I tried searching and found nothing recent
I'm not sure about the frame loss problem, but the 4Gb file size limit is due to the FAT32 allocation table. If you format your SD card using the exFAT allocation table you won't encounter the 4Gb limit. I've previously recorded a single file of over 20Gb on a 32Gb SD card using exFAT in my Nikon P900 camera.

Win10 will default to format an SD card of 32Gb or less in FAT32, but you can change that to exFAT in the format settings. The attached image is a 32Gb SD card which I've just formatted in both formats.

SD21exFAT32.jpg
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: MTO

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,290
Reaction score
3,008
Location
Western US
I'm not sure about the frame loss problem, but the 4Gb file size limit is due to the FAT32 allocation table. If you format your SD card using the exFAT allocation table you won't encounter the 4Gb limit. I've previously recorded a single file of over 20Gb on a 32Gb SD card using exFAT in my Nikon P900 camera.

Win10 will default to format an SD card of 32Gb or less in FAT32, but you can change that to exFAT in the format settings. The attached image is a 32Gb SD card which I've just formatted in both formats.

View attachment 108784
Regardless of formatting as either FAT32 or exFAT, the Phantom will still split video files at ~4GB even though the exFat format itself allows larger files.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zerone
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
199
Reaction score
138
Location
S.Wales, UK
Regardless of formatting as either FAT32 or exFAT, the Phantom will still split video files at ~4GB even though the exFat format itself allows larger files.
Thanks for that info. I've never created a Phantom video big enough, or detailed enough to really experience the problem. Now I understand the OP's question and was obviously looking at it from the wrong direction. My experience of larger file videos comes from experimenting with real time star trails, flower bud opening and duck egg hatching. None of which are best done with a Phantom.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Oso
Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
114
Reaction score
95
Just wondering if DJI have fixed the problem of losing frames between the 4Gb spanned files . Have not updated any firmware , so checking to see if anyone has checked this issue. I tried searching and found nothing recent
You should be losing data , just makes more videos
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
131
Reaction score
35
Age
64
Regardless of formatting as either FAT32 or exFAT, the Phantom will still split video files at ~4GB even though the exFat format itself allows larger files.
Yes that is correct. The issue I'm asking about is when DJI products split the file , it loses frames before the next file starts. It occurs with all our Phantoms and Osmo's.
I'm wondering if they had fixed the losing of frames in newer firmware.
All my other cameras Canon, etc. all split at the 4Gb limit but they don't lose any frames.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
134,476
Messages
1,391,156
Members
98,032
Latest member
quadrotor