Landing gear in image frame

Reaction score
Got my P2 a few weeks ago so I'm still learning.

I love the image I'm making but I find a lot of time I end up seeing the left landing gear in my frame. Whenever the Phantom turns a bit too quickly or is inclined to fight the wind. It ruins a lot of shots and I'm wondering if there is something to do to avoid that. I have the 3D gimball with a GoPro.

there's nothing you can really do in flight to prevent that... you can try to fly very gently but like you said a gust of wind or whatever and the Phantom auto-corrects and you might see it.

There several types of aftermarket landing gear available for the Phantom2... some are basically like the stock set just a wider and taller like these or these.

but there's also fancy ones like these carbon fiber ones

many different styles out there.. just go searching for dji phantom 2 landing gear you'll find some you like

Reducing the field of view helps quite a lot. Other than that it's avoiding hard right turns and flight in gusty conditions - if you want to film hard turns make them to the left! Also if you fly in ATTI mode as opposed to GPS it will drift with the wind rather than fight it if you must film on windier days - although that requires a lot more attention to be paid to the flying and less on the filming in case you come a cropper

While GoPro continue to make their cameras with the lens off-set to the left it's going to be an issue on the stock Phantom. You can retro-fit wider landing gear but they won't fit in most flight cases and you need to be careful with compass position.

ah yes FOV I usually run in medium. nice one

Thought it was the way I installed the gimbal but looks like I'll have to learn to live with this issue. Bummer. Thanks for the replies.

QYV said:
there's nothing you can really do in flight to prevent that... you can try to fly very gently but like you said a gust of wind or whatever and the Phantom auto-corrects and you might see it.