Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard iPhone and iPad Different Fly Zones??

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Ryan Tetuan, Jan 14, 2016.

  1. Ryan Tetuan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been using my P3S in Los Angeles, flying on the beach by my office. On the iPhone - no issues.
    Just got my new iPad and was excited to use it - but it's making my drone flying impossible. Why?? There are massive no fly zones indicated on the iPad map, versus the iPhone. Same version of software, I don't understand why they'd be different? Any ideas?

    Looks like I'm not alone either:
    DJI Forum|No fly zone

    See photos for proof [​IMG]

    iPad
    [​IMG]

    iPhone
    [​IMG]
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    8,657
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Different versions of the DJI GO app perhaps?
     
  3. Ryan Tetuan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same versions. Updated both from App store
     
  4. chops411

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello, this is my first post. I been flying with the Phantom 1 for a year and just got the 4k and I have the same problem.

    My iPad mini had to many no fly zones but saw this post and my iTouch 5 works. I would rather use the mini iPad but I guess I'll stick with the touch right now.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    8,657
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    chops411, did you install the new version of DJI GO that was released today? DJI said it includes some kind of fixes related to no fly zones. Perhaps it'll resolve this issue for you.
     
  6. chops411

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    No I try my iPad 10min ago and to many fly zones but my itouch let me take off. Ill look for the update, Thank You
     
  7. chops411

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    The first pic is from the mini iPad yesterday and the 2nd pic is from an itouch 5. I will try the to update the mini iPad app and give new results.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. chops411

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    This fixed the problem on the mini iPad. I had to delete the app and reinstall but now the fly zones seem correct. THANK YOU
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27,850
    Likes Received:
    8,657
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Good! :)
     
    chops411 likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - iPhone iPad Different Forum Date
Standard P3S-DJI won’t boot up on my iPad or iPhone Phantom 3 Help Jan 12, 2018
P3 Firmware iPad mini 2 and iPhone 5s both crashed Firmware Jan 2, 2018
Issues with my P4 controller when alternating from iPhone to iPad. Phantom 4 Discussion Dec 30, 2017
DJI Go 3 (For products before P4) iPad / iPhone apps Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Dec 21, 2017
iPhone or iPad Photos and Video Nov 6, 2017