I ignored all your warnings and used a phantom to play fetch with my dog

Reaction score
And we had a blast.
Rigged up a clothespin to release when he grabbed the ball and made sure the part that remained on the drone wasn’t long enough to swing up into the props- it worked beautifully.

Unfortunately there was too much going on for me to try and keep the phantom camera on him at the same time - I’m still new at this - so video is taken from the ground.

No dogs or drones were harmed in the making of this video.

Next week my payload release attachment arrives and we’ll try more of a “drop” method than a “pull” method.

(Apologies for the vertical and poor quality video - apparently my iPhone frame rate wasn’t set high enough to use the “speed up” feature but I didn’t want this to be a 4 minute video)

You did not! You took heed and applied some warnings to make everything work. How about, keep string short, so it doesn't get in props.
They were well valid good warnings. Things to watch for. You did well.

I suppose you’re right - I welcome suggestions on how to do it better / safer - but it seemed like most people just wanted to tell me what a bad idea it was and not to do it rather than offer any input on how to do it better or safely.

I thank those that did offer advice and suggestions.
It went off without a hitch and I even installed prop guards for everyone’s safety just in case!

Last edited:
I suppose you’re right - I welcome suggestions on how to do it better / safer - but it seemed like most people just wanted to tell me what a bad idea it was and not to do it rather than offer any input on how to do it better or safely.

I thank those that did offer advices and suggestions.
It went off without a hitch and I even installed prop guards for everyone’s safety just in case!