How many are running the 30 degree upward tilt?

Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
135
Reaction score
48
Age
70
Location
Phoenix
Like some of you folks, I find myself needing more sky in a lot of my shots. I am just curious how many of you folks are running your gimbal/camera with the upward tilt? Since I have not tried it yet: is it adjustable or is it 30 up or nothing in between?
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,496
Reaction score
10,558
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
is it adjustable or is it 30 up or nothing in between?
When enabled, it's adjustable up to 30 degrees. You can control the camera with the wheel -- just like you do when you tilt it down.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
135
Reaction score
48
Age
70
Location
Phoenix
Msinger, do you run it on yours? If so at what degree, to keep the props out of the pic?
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,496
Reaction score
10,558
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
I don't use it. If the props are in the pic, then try flying backward. That'll cause the Phantom to tilt and should allow you to tilt the camera up further.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lefty63 and Digdat0
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
135
Reaction score
48
Age
70
Location
Phoenix
Yes, I am aware of the backwards flight, but that was not really my intention for the OP. I was trying to find out who is using this setting to go beyond "level" and to what degree to avoid props. Or at least minimize props.
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,496
Reaction score
10,558
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
In that case, you're going to need to lay out the specific scenario:
  • Are you shooting video or photos?
  • Is your Phantom traveling forward or backward?
  • How fast is your Phantom traveling?
  • How fast is the wind blowing?
  • What ISO is the camera set to?
I guess you can see where this is heading. There is not a specific angle that works well in every scenario.
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,892
Reaction score
8,885
Like some of you folks, I find myself needing more sky in a lot of my shots. I am just curious how many of you folks are running your gimbal/camera with the upward tilt? Since I have not tried it yet: is it adjustable or is it 30 up or nothing in between?
That's what you have to do if you want to capture great skies.
Sometimes you have to do a little tidying up in Photoshop if you want extra high.
682-702a-XL.jpg
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
97
Reaction score
74
Age
47
I run my phanton 3P with the 30 degree up angle enabled. No set angle to make sure props aren't in the pic...lots of variables with each flight as already stated so just have to look at each capture to make sure props aren't there.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
7,844
Reaction score
3,113
Location
Australia
I have +30 enabled but don't go above 0 if flight. I use it mainly when hovering for shooting frames for later stitching to pano's. If props are in frame u just remove them with the content aware tools in photoshop pre stitching. I'd rather have the extra sky to crop out later than not have enough. A bit of fiddling but often worth the effort.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
188
Reaction score
82
Age
40
I have the extended range enabled as well. I do occasionally get props in frame but I shoot 4K and almost always finish in 1080, so it's pretty rare to get it bad enough I can't push in or cut around it
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2016
Messages
385
Reaction score
127
Age
41
Yeah, it's come in handy a few times, especially if flying low with any chance of obstacles nearby. Nice just to look up and check.

Also, I believe that when I use DronePan for panos, now with +30 on it does a higher shot, giving more of the sky! Again, you may get some props in the shot but that's fixable with a little magic.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2016
Messages
282
Reaction score
35
Age
64
Location
Cherry Hill, Southern NJ
That's what you have to do if you want to capture great skies.
Sometimes you have to do a little tidying up in Photoshop if you want extra high.
682-702a-XL.jpg
Wow, You are lightyears ahead of me of quality of photos. Nice Work !
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2016
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Age
52
I have +30 enabled but don't go above 0 if flight. I use it mainly when hovering for shooting frames for later stitching to pano's. If props are in frame u just remove them with the content aware tools in photoshop pre stitching. I'd rather have the extra sky to crop out later than not have enough. A bit of fiddling but often worth the effort.

It's just as easy to clone more sky in using photoshop as it is to edit out props.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
7,844
Reaction score
3,113
Location
Australia
It's just as easy to clone more sky in using photoshop as it is to edit out props.
Perhaps. I have done both. I am comfortable with my workflow. I noticed an error in my post where I said "u" instead of "I". My intent was to say what I do. I prefer the content aware tools particularity where there is a lot of detail in the sky as for me it gives a more natural looking outcome.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2015
Messages
1,301
Reaction score
336
Location
Chicago
I shoot more stills than video. When I have a great sky & doing panos I'll do a row tilted up, centered and down to get three rows for stitching.
If props show a bit, Photoshop a bit and done.
7cbd43c01c45fd1c18f5b8c448696440.jpg



Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lefty63

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
141,064
Messages
1,452,848
Members
102,886
Latest member
Existentialist