How do you quickly descend

Reaction score
Hello folks,
I know this has probably been discussed several times.
I am new to quads though.

What is the fastest safest way to descend when at high altitudes?
I'm afraid to hold the left stick down in fear of turning the motors off.

Does anyone have a preferred method for descending when at high altitudes?
Thanks
Larry

Running 3.04+ (maybe earlier rev. too) you're limited to 2m/sec.

As far as left stick full down... so long as you have intelligent motor cut-off there's no worry (it's the default so you'd have to have changed it to immediate (I believe they call it).

You will however loose pitch and roll when applying less than 10% throttle.

Larry9901 said:
Hello folks,
I know this has probably been discussed several times.
I am new to quads though.

What is the fastest safest way to descend when at high altitudes?
I'm afraid to hold the left stick down in fear of turning the motors off.

Does anyone have a preferred method for descending when at high altitudes?
Thanks
Larry
That will not turn off motors... however, to be avoid a 'Vortex Ring State' or VRS, it's best to descend while moving in any direction with your right stick... avoid descending straight down.. having said that, DJI implemented a speed restriction on descent rate to 3 meters per second to avoid this VRS.. so you would probably be fine to descend straight down... but just as a precaution, don't.. ;)

Thought it was 2 m/sec. (Don't care really just wanted to be up to date.)

Also, DO NOT perform CSC in flight as that will shut-off motors!

N017RW said: