Help! Bad jello after a crash...

Reaction score
Hello. I'm very new to the Phantom 2 and I'm really getting into it because of the video possibilities. I don't have a big RC background.

I have had several great flights and I've gotten some amazing shots from my Hero3 (Silver) and Zenmuse H3-2D combo. I feel like I'm becoming a pretty good pilot...and getting all cocky is probably why, this past Saturday, I experienced a pretty nasty crash. I caught a tree limb up high and fell about 30 feet. I broke three of the props and the mounting platform for the Zenmuse.

I have replaced the props and the Zenmuse mount (with a carbon fiber after market that I found on Amazon). The Zenmuse is still working great, and I am still able to fly with good control...but, after the crash I have some kind of an alignment issue. I am getting a lot of shimmy and jello in my video (what I had been shooting prior to the crash was rock solid...it looked like I had the camera on a boom arm). It's bad enough that you can actually see the Phantom shimmy slightly when it is hovering. The arm that took the most abuse in the crash has a slight distortion in the plastic up by the air ports. I haven't found a crack, but it did obviously experience some distress.

If you match the blade tips to each other, you can tell that the prop blade on the damaged arm is slightly out of line with the other prop tips. Rolling it around, you can also see that it is slightly closer to the body of the Phantom than the other prop tips. It's not so close that it hits the body when running, but it is noticeably closer even to the naked eye.

I'm guessing that this can be corrected by somehow shimming the motor. But, how do you do this alignment? Is there a tool out there that can align the motor? Or, because of the damage to the arm, is this something that should go back to DJI for repair?

Your time and input is greatly appreciated!! I'm looking forward to getting back in air soon...

AStare64 said: