Goggles with Phantom 4 Standard?

Joined
Oct 1, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Age
32
Hi folks,

I have a question about the DJI goggles (white ones) when used with the standard 2016 Phantom 4.

i know you need to plug the goggles into the controller via USB as they don’t work wirelessly, but it doesn’t seem you can set the RTH height from the goggles.

so this has me wondering, what’s the right way to set this RTH setting? Launch with your tablet plugged in and the correct settings, then swap to plugging in the goggles? Or am I missing something here?

cheers!
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,696
Reaction score
4,470
Age
51
Location
NZ
Welcome,,yip your correct,,set up in app first,,,,,,
Ps when I used mine I had a seat,,safer than standing with these googles lol
I did like the head tracking which moves cam but didn't really like the headset,,
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Age
32
Welcome,,yip your correct,,set up in app first,,,,,,
Ps when I used mine I had a seat,,safer than standing with these googles lol
I did like the head tracking which moves cam but didn't really like the headset,,

thanks for the reply!

does the drone save the RTH settings the first time they’re configured with Go 4? Or do you need to start flying with the app every time before using goggles?
 

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,196
Reaction score
1,808
Age
68
Location
IRB, Fl
thanks for the reply!

does the drone save the RTH settings the first time they’re configured with Go 4? Or do you need to start flying with the app every time before using goggles?
RTH settings stay put until you change again.
Mine stay at 100ft unless moving to an area with higher obstructions.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Age
32
RTH settings stay put until you change again.
Mine stay at 100ft unless moving to an area with higher obstructions.

excellent, thank you!

I ended up buying a GL300E controller (the pro+ controller with the built in screen and Go 4 app). Turns out you can use the controller display and the goggles over USB at the same time. Since the controller also has built in HDMI, you can output over that too if desired.

Ive heard rumors the GL300E will get you better range and signal vs the stock controller as well, but haven’t confirmed that.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone and Capt KO

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,727
Messages
1,441,349
Members
101,474
Latest member
MarkBaravelli