FPV distance loss with RotorPixel Gimbal

Reaction score
Guys I'm a newbie and have only had my P2V for a few months. I'm considering getting a RotorPixel Gimbal which seems like an amazing addition to the P2V and I was wondering how much the FPV transmission is affected without any modifications to the P2V. As I said I'm a newbie and have read the entire RotorPixel Gimbal Technical Discussion thread and would not feel comfortable with making some of antennae mods mentioned. Also without any of the antennae mods how much does adding the RE700 WiFi extender help out? Lastly I'm not looking to get extreme distance enhancements to the P2V just keeping what I have out of the box (for now at least ;-).

Hi Mike Drone7, welcome to the forum buddy;)

I've got a RPG which I installed a couple of months ago, great piece of kit.
my PV2 is all stock so no upgrade parts & the range I get is about 1300 plus ft.
Take a look at the link below at my screen shot;)

http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/distance-and-height-personal-best.42503/page-2

I could have gone further but well.... All I'm going to say is I needed the toilet....:eek:
I know a lot of the guys on here have upgraded things but just to reassure you mine is standard, no mods & I'm very happy with the range.

At a later stage you can upgrade things but that's up to you;)

Hi Porky,

Thanks for the response it is much appreciated and it convinced me to place my order for a RPG!

Also thanks for the newbie advice and the other post has been deleted.