Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

For the sake argument, would this work?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by alirz, Sep 2, 2016.

  1. alirz

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    27
    I know this has been discussed before but i never really saw a clear answer.
    Could you theoretically, take off from ground, land on a tall building 500M high, do a CSC to power off air craft, do a csc again to power on and climb another 500M from that home point etc,,, and keep doing this to all the way to mount everest's peak :) j/k
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    7,401
    Likes Received:
    2,144
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    In theory, yes.
    One thing I'm not clear on (I do not have a P3) is the resetting of the Home/take-off point altitude upon motor restart/lift-off without cycling battery power as well.

    Waiting for someone else to chime-in.
     
  3. Richard R

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    868
    Location:
    Ohio
    Even it the tchnique would work (I have my doubts), wouldn't get you to Everest! Air's too thin! Not sure what the service ceiling is on a Phantom, but I'm willing to bet it's lower than 29 kft!
     
    Falcon900 likes this.
  4. alirz

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    27
    I know that ..the service ceiling for the p3 is 6000m above sea level.
     
  5. HWCM

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    365
  6. Jdhill

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    I'm not sure if it will work, but if it does, when you land on said tall building DO NOT DO CSC to power off. Just hold the left stick down for 3 seconds, CSC will sometimes cause you to tip over. You should never do CSC when you land, but especially if you are landing somewhere that you can't get to bird quickly
     
    Pharm and John Locke like this.
  7. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Yes, when the bird is powered on, you are at 0 altitudes from where you launch.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  8. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10,153
    Likes Received:
    4,991
    The problem with that scenario is that if you could land on the roof of the tall building, unless you manage to land right on the edge, you will lose line of sight and won't be able to restart.
     
    John Locke likes this.
  9. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3,012
    Likes Received:
    527
    Interesting question.

    Could you just reset your home point at 500 M and then climb from there ?
     
  10. JockC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I believe the home point might only be a GPS lateral point of reference and likely does not take altitude into account so I doubt that would work.
     
  11. BudWalker

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    Santa Margarita, Ca
    The home point is set at every motorStart. So I think this would work. Also, the home point altitude is set to be 20 meters higher than the baro altitude at motorStart. I suspect this is to insure that any barometric pressure increase during the flight doesn't cause an RTH to land lower than the home point.
     
    Oso likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - sake argument Forum Date
Why O' Why Has thou forsaken me, Litchi??? Standard/4k Discussion Jun 9, 2016
Should I forsake the Shield and get myself a new iPad Air instead?? Pro/Adv Discussion Aug 5, 2015
Topic turned into argument please delete Photos and Video Dec 29, 2015